Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
C-SPAN Video Library
    CSPAN
This resource is freely accessible

C-SPAN Video Library

The C-SPAN Video Library records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Programs are indexed by subject, speaker names, titles, affiliations, sponsors, committees, categories, formats, policy groups, keywords, and location. The congressional sessions and committee hearings are indexed by person with full-text. 1987-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
CARIS from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

CARIS from FAO

Created to identify and facilitate the exchange of information about current agricultural research projects being carried out in developing countries, including natural resources, nutrition, and agricultural economics. Basic information about each project is presented. 1975-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000154
CIA World Fact Book
    Central Intelligence Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

CIA World Fact Book

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as flags of the world, a physical map of the world, a political map of the world, and a standard time zones of the world map.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
    Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, and policy briefs. Most full-text content is presented as HTMl web pages. 1991-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000130
CONSULTANT from Cornell University
    CONSULTANT from Cornell University
This resource is freely accessible

CONSULTANT from Cornell University

CONSULTANT is a diagnostic support system that suggests possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs. It provides a brief synopsis of the diagnoses, including a general description, the species affected, signs associated with it, and a list of recent literature refences.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
CRIS - Current Research Information System
    Current Research Information System
This resource is freely accessible

CRIS - Current Research Information System

CRIS is the U.S. Department of Agriculture's documentation and reporting system for ongoing and recently completed research and education projects in agriculture, food and nutrition, and forestry. Research summarized in reports in CRIS is often published elsewhere, and the report will note where publication was expected. 1966-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
California Digital Library eScholarship Editions ebooks
    California Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible

California Digital Library eScholarship Editions ebooks

The eScholarship Editions collection includes over 500 freely accessible ebooks from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, humanities, social sciences, science, and literature. (Bibliographic information about 1500 other ebooks us also available; many of these will be available through the Virginia Tech libraries or interlibrary loan.) Ebooks are presented in HTML. 1982-2004.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Technical Reports
    Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Technical Reports
This resource is freely accessible

Caltech Earthquake Engineering Research Laboratory Technical Reports

This database includes approximately 1180 earthquake engineering technical reports. Data includes work on strong-motion earthquake accelerograms, and considerable research springing from the San Fernando, Whittier Narrows, Landers and Northridge earthquakes. 1952-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Canadian Patents database (CIPO)
    Canadian Patents database (CIPO)
This resource is freely accessible

Canadian Patents database (CIPO)

Contains more than two million Canadian patents and published applications. Bibliographic fields such as Titles, Names and Classifications are searchable from 1869. Text Databases such as Abstract and Claims are searchable from 1978-08-15. The Issue date is searchable from 1869. The Filing date is searchable from 1978-08-15. The Priority date is searchable from 1989-10-01. Images are available from 1920-01-01 except for Cover page and Abstract which are available from 1975.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Cancer Chromosomes Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Cancer Chromosomes Database from NLM

Cancer Chromosomes contains three cancer cytogenetic databases: the NCI Mitelman Database of Chromosome Aberrations in Cancer, the NCI Recurrent Chromosome Aberrations in Cancer, and the NCI and NCBI SKY/M-FISH & CGH Database. Karyotype, SKY/M-FISH, and CGH data can be searched simultaneously. Similarity searches demonstrate cytogenetic and clinical relatedness at varying levels of specificity.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
    Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
This resource is freely accessible

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments; federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; territories of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. Includes a compilation of all types of federal assistance, not just grants. Surplus equipment, training, direct loans and more are also included in this database.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
    Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts
This resource is freely accessible

Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts

Offers a means to discover medieval manuscripts available on the web. Very much a work in progress, the database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, expected to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database. As the project develops, a richer body of information for each manuscript, and the texts in these codices, will be provided, where available.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Censtats from the US Census
    Censtats from the US Census
This resource is freely accessible

Censtats from the US Census

Statistics, demographic information and other data for the US from several Census Bureau databases. Includes county business patterns, construction and building permits, census tracts, occupation data, international trade data and more. 1977-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Center for Research Libraries
    Center for Research Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)

Catalog of 5 million newspapers, journals, documents, foreign dissertations, archives and other resources for research, which VT users borrow through ILLiad and, in some cases, access online. See also "topic guides." VT does NOT subscribe to all CRL "e-collections." CRL is a consortium of North American research libraries, including Virginia Tech, for preserving and sharing rare or unusual works.  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)
    Center for Research Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)

Catalog of 5 million newspapers, journals, documents, foreign dissertations, archives and other resources for research, which VT users borrow through ILLiad and, in some cases, access online. See also "topic guides." VT does NOT subscribe to all CRL "e-collections." CRL is a consortium of North American research libraries, including Virginia Tech, for preserving and sharing rare or unusual works.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000845
ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM
    ChemIDplus from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

ChemIDplus Advanced from the NLM

Searches the NLM ChemIDplus database of over 370,000 chemicals and displays numerous properties (and sometimes lists citations for sources of the data, but it does not search article citations directly). Allows various search capabilities beyond the Lite version including chemical structure, toxicity, and physical property searching. You will need a web browser that has a recent version of Java installed. There is a structure drawing and display applet named Marvin. An alternative method to provide the capabilities needed to accept a structure query is the Chime plug-in.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ChemIDplus Lite from the NLM
    ChemIDplus from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

ChemIDplus Lite from the NLM

Provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in NLM databases, including the TOXNET system. Also provides structure searching and direct links to many biomedical resources. Contains over 388,000 chemical records, of which over 295,000 include chemical structures, and is searchable by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ChemSpider from RSC
    Royal Society of Chemistry
This resource is freely accessible

ChemSpider from RSC

ChemSpider indexes citation and abstracts on chemical structures and their properties from journals, patents, and books. Article citations are linked via DOIs to Get VText.

Full record

Jul 27, 2012
Child Welfare Information Gateway
    US Dept of Health and Human Services
This resource is freely accessible

Child Welfare Information Gateway

A service of the Children's Bureau within the Administration for Children and Families of the Department of Health and Human Services. The Gateway provides access to resources including print and electronic publications, websites, databases and more covering topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search and reunion, and much more.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress

Allows searching and viewing newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Full-text newspapers from Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington are currently available.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
CiteSeerX Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine
    CiteSeerX Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine
This resource is freely accessible

CiteSeerX Scientific Literature Digital Library and Search Engine

Automated scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System from the National Parks Service
    National Park Service
This resource is freely accessible

Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System from the National Parks Service

Contains basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides of the Civil War. Facts are from records that are indexes of other documents about Union and Confederate Civil War soldiers maintained by the National Archives and Records Administration. Also includes histories of regiments in both the Union and Confederate Armies and descriptions of 384 significant battles of the war. Currently contains over 6 million soldier names from 44 states and territories.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Code of Federal Regulations fromFDSys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Code of Federal Regulations from FDSys

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) annual edition is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. 1996-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Congressional Bills database from FDsys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Congressional Bills database from FDsys

Browse or search the full text of bills. Updated daily. More recent bills available as digitally signed PDFs. 103rd Congress (1993-1994) forward.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Congressional Research Service Reports from the UNT Libraries
    University of North Texas
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Congressional Research Service Reports from the UNT Libraries

This database provides full-text PDFs of Congressional Research Service reports. CRS does not provide public access to their reports, instead these reports have been collected from members of Congress's website and other sources. This database does not include a compete collection of all CRS reports. 1976-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Conserved Domains Database (CDD) from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Conserved Domains Database (CDD) from NLM

Conserved domains are functional units within a protein that have been used as building blocks in molecular evolution and recombined in various arrangements to make proteins with different functions.

The Conserved Domain Database (CDD) brings together several collections of multiple sequence alignments representing conserved domains, including NCBI-curated domains, which use 3D-structure information to explicitly to define domain boundaries and provide insights into sequence/structure/function relationships, as well as domain models imported from a number of external source database

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Construction Criteria Base (CCB) from the National Institute of Building Sciences
    Construction Criteria Base (CCB)
This resource is freely accessible

Construction Criteria Base (CCB) from the National Institute of Building Sciences

Construction Criteria Base (CCB) is an extensive electronic library of construction guide specifications, manuals, standards, and other essential criteria documents. Published and updated continuously, CCB contains the complete unabridged, approved, current electronic equivalents of over 10,000 documents direct from participating federal agencies. CCB is an effective tool for finding and using current, approved U.S. construction criteria. Documents are available as PDFs and as word-processing formats or in the SPECSINTACT specification processing program used by the Army, NAVFAC and NASA.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library
    Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Corporate Reports Online from University of Pennsylvania Library
    University of Pennsylvania Library
This resource is freely accessible

Corporate Reports Online from University of Pennsylvania Library

Corporate Reports Online offers annual reports in PDF from U.S. companies. The entire collection is searchable by company or industry name, year, or words in the text. Each retrieved document is fully searchable as well.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

Country Profiles and Mapping Information System from FAO

Country Profiles and Mapping Information System provides country-level reports and statistical data in FAO "fields of expertise" (namely sustainable development, economic situation, agriculture/ forestry/ fishery sectors, technical cooperation) and "priority areas" (biodiversity, biosecurity, biotechnology, climate change, ecosystem management, emergency operations, ethics, food for cities, gender, global studies, information management, integrated production systems, organic farming, spatial information, sustainable livelihoods, trade agreements).

Full record

Sep 13, 2010