Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Handbooks and manuals

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Primarily for resources that are "how-to" guides
  • Subject specific and "library research" tutorials
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
CAB Abstracts from CABDirect
    CAB
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000144
CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health from EBSCOhost

CINAHL provides indexing for citations, abstracts, and full text from journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. It also offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Searchable cited references for some journals are also included. Full-text material (in PDF and HTML) includes journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000105
CONSULTANT from Cornell University
    CONSULTANT from Cornell University
This resource is freely accessible

CONSULTANT from Cornell University

CONSULTANT is a diagnostic support system that suggests possible diagnoses or causes for clinical signs. It provides a brief synopsis of the diagnoses, including a general description, the species affected, signs associated with it, and a list of recent literature refences.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
CRC Engineering Handbooks Online
    CRCnetBase
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

CRC Engineering Handbooks Online - CRCnetBASE

Search or browse across the full text of over 1800 CRC engineering handbooks. Each chapter is available as a downloadable PDF. Our subscription does not include every ebook available through CRCnetBASE; be sure to limit to "Full access content only" when searching.  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
CRC Engineering Handbooks Online - CRCnetBASE
    CRCnetBase
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

CRC Engineering Handbooks Online - CRCnetBASE

Search or browse across the full text of over 1800 CRC engineering handbooks. Each chapter is available as a downloadable PDF. Our subscription does not include every ebook available through CRCnetBASE; be sure to limit to "Full access content only" when searching.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000134
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
    CRC Handbook
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics

Searchable and browsable ebook version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Interactive tables allow live sorting, filtering, and exporting of the data. 92nd Edition, 2011-2012.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000135
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
    CRCnetBase
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook

The CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook provides full-text chapters on topics such as structure and composition of materials; phase diagram sources; thermodynamic and kinetic data; and thermal, mechanical, electrical, optical, and chemical properties of materials. About 400 tables cover all important categories. Each chapter is a separate PDF. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000134
Chicago Manual of Style Online
    Chicago Manual of Style
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Chicago Manual of Style Online

Covers all aspects of academic writing and publishing, including citation guides for both notes/bibliographies (a.k.a "Turabian") and author/date formats, advice on writing style and usage, tools for manuscript preparation, and Q&A pages with recently submitted questions about applying the style guide. Site includes both 16th (2010) and 15th edition (2003).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000862
Consumer Health Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Consumer Health Complete from EBSCOhost

Consumer Health Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from many different source types: evidence-based reports, reference works including medical dictionaries and encyclopedias, fact sheets and pamphlets, news articles, drug information, and multimedia files. You can search by disease, condition, injury, or procedure.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000655
Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library
    Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA)
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture (CHLA) from Cornell University Library

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is a core electronic collection of scanned agricultural texts. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. 1620-1999.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Crop Protection Compendium Online from CABI
    Centre for Agricultural Bioscience International
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Crop Protection Compendium Online from CABI

Up-to-date information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds and natural enemy species worldwide. Over 3,700 complete datasheets, provided by over 1,100 specialists. Data for over 200 different crops and over 150 countries, with global and regional distribution maps. Over 8000 images allowing for easy identification of crop pests. Background information on 10,000 pests, diseases, weeds, and natural enemy species providing a complete archive.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001004