Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Newspapers and magazines

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Does not include articles from trade journals
  • Indexes and full-text
  • Popular magazine articles
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index from Chadwyck-Healey

C19 is a gateway to primary sources from the Anglo-American world between the French Revolution and the end of World War I. Search in/across records compiled in several authoritative indexes to periodicals, book catalogs, and descriptions of archives and US and British government information. Many of the documents indexed in C19 are available in print or microform in Newman Library. C19 also provides access to portions of American Periodicals and British Periodicals full-text databases. 1770-1919.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Center for Research Libraries
    Center for Research Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)

Catalog of 5 million newspapers, journals, documents, foreign dissertations, archives and other resources for research, which VT users borrow through ILLiad and, in some cases, access online. See also "topic guides." VT does NOT subscribe to all CRL "e-collections." CRL is a consortium of North American research libraries, including Virginia Tech, for preserving and sharing rare or unusual works.  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)
    Center for Research Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Center for Research Libraries Catalog (CRL)

Catalog of 5 million newspapers, journals, documents, foreign dissertations, archives, and other resources for research, which are borrowed through ILLiad and, in some cases, accessed online. See also "topic guides." Virginia Tech does NOT subscribe to all CRL "e-collections."  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000845
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) from Black Studies Center
    Black Studies Center
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Chicago Defender (1910-1975) from Black Studies Center

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Individual articles available as PDFs.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000830
Chicago Tribune from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Chicago Tribune from ProQuest Historical Newspapers

Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Individual articles available as PDFs. 1849-1986. Other data ranges.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000744
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress

Allows searching and viewing newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and finding information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Full-text newspapers from Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington are currently available.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
College & University News from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

College & University News from LexisNexis

Includes college & university newspapers (the University Wire), the Collegiate Newswire, The Chronicle of Higher Education, and the TLS Times Higher Education Supplement. To limit to Collegiate Times articles, include "collegiate times" inside quotes with your search terms. All content is full text. 1997-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260