Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
DOE Green Energy
    DOE Green Energy
This resource is freely accessible

DOE Green Energy

This portal provides technical documents from thousands of R&D projects conducted at DOE National Laboratories and by DOE-funded awards at universities. Contains both current and historical research, including bibliographic citations, technical reports and patent information on different types of renewable energy resources and energy conservation. Full text available as PDFs. 1940s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
DOE Information Bridge
    DOE Information Bridge
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

DOE Information Bridge

Full-text of over 259,000 Department of Energy reports in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, energy technologies, and other topics. Documents available in a variety of formats, including PDF, MS Word, HTML, Postscript, TIFF, and XML. 1991-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000251
DataOne
    DataOne
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

DataOne

DataONE searches against multiple data repositories. You can limit by date or geographic area.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001634
Databib
    Databib
This resource is freely accessible Green open access - self archiving

Databib

Databib is a catalog of online repositories of research data. Each repository is described by a record written for data users, data producers, publishers and professional societies, and research funding agencies.

Full record

Jun 17, 2013 e1001635
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
    Defense Technical Information Center
This resource is freely accessible

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

DTIC serves the Department of Defense community as a central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. Provides the warfighter and researchers, scientists, engineers, laboratories, and universities timely access to over 2 million publications covering over 250 subject areas. All visitors can search DTIC's publicly accessible collections and read or download scientific and technical information, using DTIC Online service. Full text, when available, is PDF.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Digital Library of the Commons from IU
    Digital Library of the Commons
This resource is freely accessible

Digital Library of the Commons from IU

Provides free access to an archive of international literature on the commons, common-pool resources and common property. Provides COiNS data for each citation, which will create a Get VText link if LibX is installed. Full text in PDF when available. 1960s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Digital Research and Scholarship Services Electronic Journals
    Digital Library and Archives
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Digital Research and Scholarship Services Electronic Journals

Ejournals published by the Digital Research and Scholarship Services department of the University Libraries at Virginia Tech. Current list of journals. Individual articles are HTML, entire issues are PDF. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000463
Directory of Open Access Journals
    Directory of Open Access Journals
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

Directory of Open Access Journals

A one stop shop for Open Access Journals (journals with a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access). Journals must exercise peer-review or editorial quality control to be included. All subject areas are covered. Uses can search by journal title or browse titles. No searching of contents of journals is provided. Journals listed in the DOAJ will also be listed in our Journal Title Database. 1874-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
    Documenting the American South
This resource is freely accessible

Documenting the American South (DocSouth)

A digital publishing initiative that provides online access to primary sources such as texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes fourteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, maps, literary works, oral history interviews, and songs. 1500s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
dbGaP Database from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

dbGaP Database from NLM

The database of genotype and phenotype (dbGaP) stores phenotype and genotype data, as well as the associations between them. Data for dbGaP will include genome-wide association studies, medical sequencing, and molecular diagnostic assays. Summaries of phenotype and genotype data as well as study documents and association analyses (when available) will be found on the public site. Authorized access may be required for downloading coded individual-level phenotypes genotypes and pedigrees.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010