Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Catalogs (about publications)

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Bibliographic tools that give additional information about a resource
  • Some include analytical tools or reviews about resources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
EPA Online Library System (OLS)
    Environmental Protection Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EPA Online Library System (OLS)

The Online Library System (OLS) for EPA’s National Library Network consists of several related databases that comprise the shared library catalog.  Use OLS to locate books, reports, journals, and audiovisual materials on a variety of topics. Then search Addison or use interlibrary loan to access the material. 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ETS TestLink
    ETS
This resource is freely accessible

ETS TestLink

ETS TestLink is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. Records in the 'ETS/ERIC Test File' portion are available in microfiche (by ETS tracking number) on the 1st floor of Newman Library (Fiche BF39 E28).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000214
Ebooks (catalog) from FirstSearch
    FirstSearch
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Ebooks (catalog) from FirstSearch

OCLC catalog of online electronic books. Includes freely available ebooks (such as federal publications) and subscription ebooks (such as from netLibrary)--including ebooks that are not part of any VT subscription. If you choose limit availability to items in my library, note: 1) Some URLs will not provide ebooks because the limit also matches the Library's print collection; and 2) Limit will fail to identify ebooks that are not cataloged in Addison (IEEEXplore documents).

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Elsevier's Journal Finder
    Elsevier Journal Finder
This resource is freely accessible

Elsevier's Journal Finder

Enter your paper's title and abstract to find potential journals (from Elsevier only) in which to publish. The tool is designed to:

  • Help less experienced authors select suitable journals for their papers
  • Enable authors working across multidisciplinary fields to identify possible journals
  • Highlight journals that offer open access options, and provide information on publication speeds and impact factors
Jul 18, 2013
English Short Title Catalogue - ESTC from the British Library
    English Short Title Catalog (ESTC)
This resource is freely accessible

English Short Title Catalog - ESTC from the British Library

Lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly but not exclusively in English and from Britain and North America.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000163
Entrez databases from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

Entrez from the NLM

Search across multiple Entrez-hosted databases from the National Library of Medicine. Entrez is NCBI’s primary text search and retrieval system that integrates the PubMed database of biomedical literature with 39 other literature and molecular databases including DNA and protein sequence, structure, gene, genome, genetic variation and gene expression.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 indexes citations of printed records (books and similar formats) about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 contains more than 32,000 citations. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. It will list libraries that own the source documents, though few of these will be available through interlibrary loan. Free access is also available.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000834