Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Countries and cultures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
East View Information Services
    East VIew
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

East View Information Services

East View provides full-text access to Russian newspapers and summaries of Soviet and Russian news. 1912-present.  

Full record

Aug 26, 2014 e1001714
Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
    Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)

EIU provides economic profiles and reports that assess and forecast political, economic and business conditions for almost 200 countries. Each report examines and explains in depth the issues shaping these countries: the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade and payments. Detailed 2 year forecasts complement the analysis and pinpoint political and economic developments and trends.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000454
Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities
    Encyclopedia Virginia
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities

Encyclopedia Virginia is a reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology. The first phase of Encyclopedia Virginia focuses on topics related to Virginia literature, Civil War history, and twentieth century history.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest

Ethnic NewsWatch indexes English- and Spanish-language, full-text articles from newspapers, magazine, and journals from around the U.S. and the world. News coverage is from Asian-American, Jewish, African-American, Native-American, Arab-American, Eastern-European, Appalachian, and multi-ethnic communities. Articles are available in HTML and PDF. 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000315
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 indexes citations of printed records (books and similar formats) about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 contains more than 32,000 citations. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. It will list libraries that own the source documents, though few of these will be available through interlibrary loan. Free access is also available.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000834