Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Earth and Environmental Science encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 42,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Economics and Business encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Economics and Business Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 30,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities
    Encyclopedia Virginia
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities

Encyclopedia Virginia is a reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology. The first phase of Encyclopedia Virginia focuses on topics related to Virginia literature, Civil War history, and twentieth century history.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Encyclopedia of Ecology from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Encyclopedia of Ecology from ScienceDirect

The Encyclopedia of Ecology contains over 500 entries on all aspects of ecology. Each article is presented as a PDF, and links to other encyclopedia articles as well as relevant journal articles hosted on ScienceDirect. First edition 2008.

 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000441
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics from Wiley
    Wiley Digital Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics from Wiley

This encyclopedia covers the four major fields in genetics. Content is available in HTML and PDF. To access this publication, you must first establish an account and then login. Click on the Register link to set up an account.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000360
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
    Encyclopedia of Life
This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)

The Encyclopedia of Life is a collaborative effort to gather and share descriptions of all living things. Content includes photos and videos, bibliographic links, distribution maps, and taxonomies of animals, plants, and microorganisms.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Encyclopedia of Politcal Science from CQ Press
    CQ Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Encyclopedia of Political Science from QC Press

The Encyclopedia of Political Science provides full-text essays in HTML on all aspects of political science, including biographies and methodology. Allow popups to see individual essays.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000787
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy from Informaworld
    Informaworld
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links

Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy from Informaworld

This work full-text reference articles in HTML on processes, methods, and influential ideas; policy decisions and histories in fields such as privatization, biomedical ethics, education, diversity, and judicial ethics; watershed decisions and policies; current administrative practices and models. [your library's links] connects to Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000250
Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering from Knovel
    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Encyclopedia of RF and Microwave Engineering from Knovel

A compendium of theory, design methods, and applications as well as an examination of technologies and future trends concerning radio frequency and microwave engineering. Each article is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000002
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
    Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

This is the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and is a work still in progress. (We also have the 2nd edition in print.) It provides full-text reference articles in HTML on all aspects of science fiction: authors, artists/illustrators, awards, comics, films and television and radio programs, themes, terminology, publications, fans and fanzines, characters, games, and music.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census from QC Press
    Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census from QC Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census from QC Press

This encyclopedia provides full-text entries in HTML on the concepts, politics, history, methods, and results of the decennial census and the continuous American Community Survey of social and economic data.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000207
English Language encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

English Language Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 120,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118