Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
EECS Technical Reports
    EECS Technical Reports
 This resource is freely accessible

EECS Technical Reports

The Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) Technical Memorandum Series provides a dated archive of EECS research. It includes Ph.D. theses and master's reports as well as technical documents that complement traditional publication media such as journals. For example, technical reports may document work in progress, early versions of results that are eventually published in more traditional media, and supplemental information such as long proofs, software documentation, code listings, or elaborated examples. 1973-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
EIA Official Energy Statistics from the DOE
    EIA Official Energy Statistics
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EIA Official Energy Statistics from the DOE

Provides policy-neutral data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. Includes wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
EPA Online Library System (OLS)
    Environmental Protection Agency
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

EPA Online Library System (OLS)

The Online Library System (OLS) for EPA’s National Library Network consists of several related databases that comprise the shared library catalog.  Use OLS to locate books, reports, journals, and audiovisual materials on a variety of topics. Then search Addison or use interlibrary loan to access the material. 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ERIC from the U.S. Department of Education
    ERIC from Dept of Education
This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

ERIC from the U.S. Department of Education

ERIC indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference and meeting papers, government documents, theses and dissertations, reports, A/V materials, books, and more on all aspects of education. Many documents are available in full text (HTML and PDF). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1966-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
EST Database from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

EST Database from NLM

The EST database is a collection of short single-read transcript sequences from GenBank. These sequences provide a resource to evaluate gene expression, find potential variation, and annotate genes.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ETDs: Electronic Theses and Dissertations from Virginia Tech
    VTechWorks
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

ETDs: Electronic Theses and Dissertations from Virginia Tech

VTechWorks indexes the full text of theses and dissertations written at Virginia Tech, which have been submitted electronically since 1995. It also includes some scanned versions of printed theses and dissertations. You can also browse these documents by author or department. Most documents are freely available, though some documents are restricted to Virginia Tech users only. 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ETS TestLink
    ETS
This resource is freely accessible

ETS TestLink

ETS TestLink is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. Records in the 'ETS/ERIC Test File' portion are available in microfiche (by ETS tracking number) on the 1st floor of Newman Library (Fiche BF39 E28).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000214
Elsevier's Journal Finder
    Elsevier Journal Finder
This resource is freely accessible

Elsevier's Journal Finder

Enter your paper's title and abstract to find potential journals (from Elsevier only) in which to publish. The tool is designed to:

  • Help less experienced authors select suitable journals for their papers
  • Enable authors working across multidisciplinary fields to identify possible journals
  • Highlight journals that offer open access options, and provide information on publication speeds and impact factors
Jul 18, 2013
Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities
    Encyclopedia Virginia
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia Virginia from the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities

Encyclopedia Virginia is a reference work about the Commonwealth; it aggregates in a single resource information on Virginia history, business, politics, and geography, plus the state’s proud heritage in the arts, religion, culture, and folklife. As the Encyclopedia grows, it will also explore areas of science, medicine, education, and technology. The first phase of Encyclopedia Virginia focuses on topics related to Virginia literature, Civil War history, and twentieth century history.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)
    Encyclopedia of Life
This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Encyclopedia of Life (EOL)

The Encyclopedia of Life is a collaborative effort to gather and share descriptions of all living things. Content includes photos and videos, bibliographic links, distribution maps, and taxonomies of animals, plants, and microorganisms.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
    Encyclopedia of Science Fiction
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of Science Fiction

This is the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and is a work still in progress. (We also have the 2nd edition in print.) It provides full-text reference articles in HTML on all aspects of science fiction: authors, artists/illustrators, awards, comics, films and television and radio programs, themes, terminology, publications, fans and fanzines, characters, games, and music.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Energy Citations Database from OSTI
    Office of Scientific and Technical Information
This resource is freely accessible

Energy Citations Database from OSTI

The Energy Citations Database indexes citations and full-text documents on energy and energy‑related scientific and technical information collected by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC). 1943-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
English Short Title Catalogue - ESTC from the British Library
    English Short Title Catalog (ESTC)
This resource is freely accessible

English Short Title Catalog - ESTC from the British Library

Lists over 460,000 items published between 1473 and 1800, mainly but not exclusively in English and from Britain and North America.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000163
European Patent Office
    European Patent Office
This resource is freely accessible

European Patent Office Espacenet

Search for information about published patent applications from over 80 different countries and regions (not just in Europe). Based on the PCT minimum documentation, which is defined by WIPO as the minimum requirement for patent collections used to search for prior-art documents for the purpose of assessing novelty and inventiveness.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 from EBSCOhost

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 indexes citations of printed records (books and similar formats) about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 contains more than 32,000 citations. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. It will list libraries that own the source documents, though few of these will be available through interlibrary loan. Free access is also available.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000834