Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Print index

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Before there were online databases, print indexes were the primary means to find citations to published literature. In some academic fields, print indexes may be our only source for citations (because we subscribe to no databases that cover that field), or a print index may supplement a database for an earlier date range than covered online. When possible, we'll give tips for using the listed index, otherwise directions should be found in the first volume. Once you find a citation, use Addison, the Virginia Tech library catalog or the Find an article by citation form to see what kind of access we have to the publication.

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Ecological abstracts
    Ecological abstracts
This resource is freely accessible

Ecological abstracts

Covers all aspects of ecology and the biology of the environment. Essential index for pre-1983 references. 1974-1998.

QH540 .E26 Newman 4th Floor

Sep 13, 2010 b1172488
Encyclopedia of Animal Science
    Encyclopedia of Animal Science
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of Animal Science

This two-volume reference set provides up-to-date information on a broad range of topics related to the biology, production, and uses of animals and their products in today's complex, diverse, and rapidly changing world. This edition covers new developments in genomics, transgenesis, cloning, and mathematical model constructions. Illustrated with b&w photographs, tables, charts, and diagrams.

SF61 .E48 2011 SciTech Ref
Sep 13, 2010 b2922638
Encyclopedia of Dairy Science
    Encyclopedia of Dairy Science
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of Dairy Science

The Encyclopedia of Dairy Sciences covers the core theories, methods, and techniques employed by dairy scientists. Included are numerous figures and tables illustrating the text as well as a color plate section in each volume. The inclusion of "Further Reading" lists at the end of each article provide easy access to further information and a guide into the primary literature. 

SF229 .E52 2003 SciTech Ref

Sep 13, 2010 b2171656
Encyclopedia of forest science
    Encyclopedia of forest sciences
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of Forest Science

The Encyclopedia of Forest Science summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques. It also covers relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management. Illustrative tables, figures, and photographs are presented with every entry.

SD126 .E53 2004 SciTech Ref

Sep 13, 2010 b2207051
Encyclopedia of human geography
    Encyclopedia of human geography
This resource is freely accessible

Encyclopedia of human geography

The approximately 300 entries in this encyclopedia of human geography cover cartography and geographic information systems, economic geography, geographic theory and history, political geography, social and cultural geography, and urban geography. Entries are cross-referenced and provide guides to further reading.

GF4 .E54 2006 Newman 3rd Floor

Sep 13, 2010 b2517738