Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
FAO Catalogue Online
    FAO catalog
This resource is freely accessible

FAO Catalogue Online

The FAO catalog indexes documents published by FAO since 1945, books added to the FAO library since 1976, and journals held by the FAO library. Use interlibrary loan to obtain documents identified through this catalog.

Full record

May 3, 2013
FAO Corporate Document Repository
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

FAO Corporate Document Repository

The FAO Corporate Document Repository houses FAO documents and publications, as well as selected non-FAO publications, in electronic format. It enables users to easily access the accumulated knowledge and information produced by FAO directly on the Internet. 1990s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FAOSTAT
    Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations
This resource is freely accessible

FAOSTAT

FAOSTAT provides time-series records covering 210 countries and territories and international statistics concerning: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery and Food Aid Shipments.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FASB Pronouncements
    FASB
This resource is freely accessible

FASB Pronouncements

Financial Accounting Standards Board statements, concepts statements, interpretations, and technical bulletins are presented in two ways - as originally issued and as amended - with amendments that have been made by subsequent pronouncements integrated into the pronouncements. 1973-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FDsys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

FDSys

FDsys provides free access to federal government publications. It indexes the full text (in HTML and PDF) of congressional, executive departments and agencies, and Supreme Court documents. 1907-present.

Full record

Jul 21, 2011
FIREDOC from NIST
    National Institute of Standards and Technology
This resource is freely accessible

FIREDOC from NIST

FIREDOC indexes the full-text (PDF) holdings of the Building and Fire Research Laboratory Research Information Services (BFRLRIS) collection, including published reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and audio/visual items. Publications include materials on building, construction engineering, and fire. 1993-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Factiva
    Factiva
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Factiva

Factiva provides full-text news articles and business/industry information from newswires, newspapers, business and industry magazines, television and radio transcripts, financial reports, and photos from news services. Most content is HTML, though other formats are available for export. News sources 1979-present; financial data 1960s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000104
Federal Business Opportunities - FedBizOpps
    Fed Biz
This resource is freely accessible

Federal Business Opportunities - FedBizOpps

FedBizOpps.gov is the single government point-of-entry (GPE) for Federal government procurement opportunities over $25,000. Government buyers are able to publicize their business opportunities by posting information directly to FedBizOpps. Commercial vendors seeking Federal markets for their products and services can search, monitor and retrieve opportunities solicited by the entire Federal contracting community.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000252
Federal Register from FDsys
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible

Federal Register from FDsys

The Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Documents are available in Summary, PDF, ASCII text, or HTML format. 1994-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000253
Film Literature Index Online from IU
    Indiana University
This resource is freely accessible

Film Literature Index Online from IU

Film Literature Index indexes citations of journal and magazine articles, film reviews, and book reviews. 1976-2001.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FinAid (Financial Aid Information Page)
    Financial Aid Network
This resource is freely accessible

FinAid (Financial Aid Information Page)

FinAid provides a free, comprehensive, independent, and objective guide to student financial aid. Included is a section on Graduate School funding.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Financial Access Survey from IMF
    International Monetary Fund
This resource is freely accessible

Financial Access Survey from IMF

Disseminates key indicators of geographic and demographic outreach of financial services, as well as the underlying data. Supports policymakers and researchers by strengthening their understanding of the determinants and implications of financial access and usage. Helps identify knowledge gaps and appropriate policies for broadening financial access and enables the authorities to monitor the effectiveness of policies over time. 2004-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
FishTraits Database
    Fish Traits
This resource is freely accessible

FishTraits

FishTraits contains full-text descriptions of freshwater fish found in the U.S.: trophic ecology, body size, reproductive ecology, habitats, salinity and temperature tolerances.  

Full record

Mar 11, 2013 e1001585
Flickr Commons
    Flickr Image Commons
This resource is freely accessible

Flickr Commons

Search and annotate public photography archives from institutions such as Library of Congress, Brooklyn Museum, Smithsonian Institution, George Eastman House, National Maritime Museum, Library of Virginia, Imperial War Museum, New York Public Library, DC Public Library Commons, and Field Museum Library. Participating cultural institutions have reasonably concluded that included photographs are free of copyright restrictions.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Forestry AgNIC
    Forestry AgNIC
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Forestry AgNIC

Forestry AgNIC indexes citations and abstracts from journals, image collections, and more on all aspects of forestry.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Foundation Directory Online from the Foundation Center
    Foundation Directory Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Foundation Directory Online

Search for information about over 100,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, or for information about nearly half a million grants. Parent organization, Foundation Center, also provides extensive free, online information about funding and managing nonprofit organizations. 2001-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000217
Founders Online
    Founders Online
This resource is freely accessible

Founders Online

Founders Online provides full-text access to thousands of documents from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison including diaries and personal papers, letters and correspondence, and authored government reports.

Full record

Sep 18, 2010