Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Countries and cultures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Gale Biography in Context
    Gale Biography in Context
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Gale Biography in Context

Biography in Context provides access to over 600,000 biographies in HTML sourced from reference works, news reports, magazines and academic journals. It provides links to related websites, images, audio, and video clips.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000903
General Social Surveys, 1972-2008 from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

General Social Surveys, 1972-2008 from ICPSR

Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions and statistics, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. The latest cumulative file covers 1972-2008 and includes 5364 variables, time-trends for 1,988 variables, and 257 trends having 20+ data points. You must create a MyData account at ICPSR before downloading the data.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data
    GeoData.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data

geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for access to geospatial information and data. A catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 from Chadwyck-Healey
    Gerritsen collection
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Gerritsen Collection--Women's History Online, 1543-1945 from Chadwyck-Healey

The Gerritsen Collection contains full-text (PDF and TIFF) journals, books, and pamphlets covering the social science aspects of feminism and the women's rights movement. 1543-1945.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000426
Global Development Finance from the World Bank
    Worlddata Bank
This resource is freely accessible

Global Development Finance from the World Bank

Global Development Finance provides external debt and financial flows statistics for the 134 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt under the World Bank's Debtor Reporting System. 1970-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
    Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Global Gateway: World Culture & Resources

Global Gateway provides access to bilingual, multimedia digital libraries from around the world, plus a listing of the searchable Library of Congress and other digital collections with a focus on history and culture from around the world. Some content is available in digitized full text.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Google Scholar
    Google Scholar
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link database provides Get VText links

Google Scholar

Google's search engine for scholarly research: the ease of Google searching combined with the quality resources you find in library databases. It indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, conference proceedings, theses, online repositories, patents, legal cases, and more. Google Scholar is particularly good when starting research and canvassing the literature or as a final search on a topic. From off-campus, click "Scholar Preferences" to set Get VText library links, which will ensure linking to full-text sources works properly.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010