Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Gale Biography in Context
    Gale Biography in Context
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Gale Biography in Context

Biography in Context provides access to over 600,000 biographies in HTML sourced from reference works, news reports, magazines and academic journals. It provides links to related websites, images, audio, and video clips.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000903
Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of searchable ebook reference works. You can search within a particular work or across the entire collection. Individual articles from these sources are presented in HTML and PDF. Illustrations, photos, maps, and multimedia content is often included.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000876
Gale's Literary Index
    Gale Literary Index
This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Gale's Literary Index

Gale's Literary Index is a master index to entries on authors and works from over 130 reference works published by Gale. You can search an author's name or a work's title to see which reference works contain entries on this item. Basic biographical information is provided for authors, and basic bibliographical information for titles. Search Addison on the title of the reference work to determine local access: in print or online.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data
    GeoData.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data

geodata.gov is a geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for access to geospatial information and data. A catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names
    Getty
This resource is freely accessible

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names

The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names is a structured vocabulary containing around 895,000 records, including around 1,115,000 names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Glossary of Geology from AGI
    Glossary of Geology from AGI
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Glossary of Geology from AGI

The Glossary of Geology allows searching and browsing of 39,000 entries covering geology, climatology, geologic engineering, geophysics, hydrology, mineralogy, paleontology, and soils.  

Full record

Sep 15, 2010 e1001208
Grand Corpus des dictionnaires
    Grand Corpus des dictionnaires
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Grand Corpus des dictionnaires [9e-20e s.]

The Grand Corpus des dictionniares contains entries from 24 French language dictionaries published from the 9th to 20th centuries. You can limit searches to grammatical categories, etymologies, historical usage, and quotes and citations. The interface is in French.  

Full record

Feb 8, 2012 e1001177
GreenFILE from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

GreenFILE from EBSCOhost

GreenFILE indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books, case studies, conference papers, speeches and interviews, letters, and reports overing all aspects of human impact to the environment including agricultural, architectural, engineering, education, and the social sciences. Full text is available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Free access version is also available. 1913-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000674
Grove Art Online
    Grove
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Grove Art Online

Grove Art Online, now part of the Oxford Art Online database, is a scholarly art encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art. It includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, edited by Jane Turner (1996, 34 volumes). Grove Art Online also offers over 5,000 searchable and embedded art images, maps, and line drawings. References are linked through Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000152
Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Online
    Grove
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Online

Grove Music Online offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, all of which include numerous articles and biographies in HTML. Many articles feature Sibelius-enabled musical examples to illustrate particular concepts and styles.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000153