Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Countries and cultures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I & II (1857-1877)
    Harp Week
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I & II (1857-1877)

Browse, search, and retrieve full page images of Harper's Weekly, which chronicles the events of the American Civil War and reconstruction years. Page images are JPG; full text is HTML and PDF. Harper’s Weekly is a consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000114
Historic Documents from CQ Press
    CQ Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Historic Documents from CQ Press

The Historic Documents Series now contains 38 volumes of primary sources. Each volume includes approximately one hundred documents covering the most significant events of the year. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions. Content is available as HTML. 1972-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000787
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online
    Historical Statistics of the US
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online

The Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS) Millennial Edition Online provides data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American history. Data is available in HTML, PDF, and Excel.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000700
History databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

History databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, books, conference papers, reference works, and dissertations (in full text PDFs) across multiple historical and primary source databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1681-present.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001248
History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

History Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 32 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 100,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Hospitality & Tourism Complete from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Hospitality & Tourism Complete from EBSCOhost

Hospitality & Tourism Complete indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of journal articles, books, company and country reports, product reviews, and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1931-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000643