Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Health Source - Consumer Edition from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Health Source - Consumer Edition from EBSCOhost

Health Source: Consumer Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from consumer health magazines, books, academic journals, pamphlets, reference works (including the full text of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary), and Clinical Reference Systems reports. Full text is available in PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000641
Healthfinder.gov from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
    US Dept of Health and Human Services
This resource is freely accessible

Healthfinder.gov from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

Contains selected health and human services information resources such as online publications, clearinghouses, databases, Web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and organizations that produce reliable information for the public.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Historical Abstracts from EBSCOhost

Historical Abstracts indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, books, and dissertations that cover the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Full text available as HTML and PDF. The database allows limiting results to specific time periods (not just publication dates). You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1800s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000121
History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

History Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 32 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 100,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118