Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Handbooks and manuals

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Primarily for resources that are "how-to" guides
  • Subject specific and "library research" tutorials
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Handbook of weather, climate, and water from Knovel
    Knovel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Handbook of Weather, Climate, and Water from Knovel

The Handbook of Weather, Climate, and Water provides full-text chapters on topics that are essential for grasping the scientific bases of major issues such as global climate warming, the ozone hole, acid rain, floods, droughts, and other natural disasters. Each chapter is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000002
HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I & II (1857-1877)
    Harp Week
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

HarpWeek: The Civil War Era and Reconstruction I & II (1857-1877)

Browse, search, and retrieve full page images of Harper's Weekly, which chronicles the events of the American Civil War and reconstruction years. Page images are JPG; full text is HTML and PDF. Harper’s Weekly is a consistent, comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000114
Health Source - Consumer Edition from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Health Source - Consumer Edition from EBSCOhost

Health Source: Consumer Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from consumer health magazines, books, academic journals, pamphlets, reference works (including the full text of Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary), and Clinical Reference Systems reports. Full text is available in PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1984-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000641
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from academic journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Full text is available as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000642
HeinOnline
    Hein Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides full-text PDF legal documents organized into libraries: Law Journals (ABA, Core, Criminal Justice, International, Intellectual Property), Legal Classics, United States Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S Federal Legislative History, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, U.S. Presidential, Treaties and Agreements, Pentagon Papers, Manual of Patent Examining Procedure, World Constitutions Illustrated, and the European Center for Minority Issues. 1200s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000223
Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH) from Cornell University Library
    hearth
This resource is freely accessible

Home Economics Archive: Research, Tradition and History (HEARTH) from Cornell University Library

HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in home economics and related disciplines. Content is full-text searchable and page-by-page viewable (as GIF, TIFF, PDF, and text). 1817-1997.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL
    Homeland Security Digital Library
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Homeland Security Digital Library - HSDL

The HSDL is a collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. 1941-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010