Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 from Iter
    iter women
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640 from Iter

Bibliography of English Women Writers 1500-1640 provides a browsable and searchable bibliography that includes catalogs, contextual studies (i.e., studies providing extended narrative or analysis), reference works (i.e., compendia of entries), anthologies of essays, special issues of journals, genre studies, handbooks and pedagogical tools, compilations containing primary sources, and dissertations. No full text documents are provided, nor links to sources for these documents. 1500-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000729
IMDb International Movie Database
    IMDB
This resource is freely accessible

IMDb International Movie Database

IMDb is a comprehensive source of film and television data: people, technical details, summaries, financials, quotes, and reviews.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
INPI: International Plant Name Index
    International Plant Names Index
This resource is freely accessible

INPI: International Plant Name Index

The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and fern allies. Its goal is to eliminate the need for repeated reference to primary sources for basic bibliographic information about plant names.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
IPA Source
    IPA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

IPA Source

IPA Source is a library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Promotes the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. At present, IPA Source offers works in Latin, Italian, German, and French. Transcriptions presented as PDFs. Includes mp3 recordings of some pronunciations. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000671
Index to Organism Names (ION) from ISI
    Index to Organism Names
This resource is freely accessible

Index to Organism Names (ION) from ISI

Contains all the animal names data found within the Thomson Reuters life science literature databases - Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews, and Biological Abstracts. Viruses, bacteria and plant names will be added soon. Search results include basic nomenclatural and hierarchical information, original description reference and related articles from Thomson Reuters databases with links to citations via , and related, evaluated veb resources.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
International Archive of Women in Architecture Biographical Database (IAWA)
    International Archive of Women in Architecture
This resource is freely accessible

International Archive of Women in Architecture Biographical Database

IAWA documents the women's involvement in architecture and landscape architecture, industrial and interior designer, and urban planning from around the world. Use the links on the left to search or browse for women who practiced architecture and related design professions. The IAWA collects information to fill serious gaps in the availability of primary research materials for architectural, women's, and social history research.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010