Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
LISTA - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

LISTA - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts from EBSCOhost

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, conference proceedings, books, product reviews, and dissertations covering library and information science. Full text is presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Cited reference searches are also available. 1880s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000500
Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly
    Legislative Information System
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Legislative Information System from the Virginia General Assembly

The Legislative Information System includes general information about the legislative process and its participants as well as the full text, summaries, status history of bills and resolutions and schedules of activity. Full text searching is also available for the Code of Virginia, Virginia Administrative Code, Bills and Resolutions, and House and Senate Documents.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000728
Library of Congress online catalog
    Library of Congress catalog
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Library of Congress online catalog

The Library of Congress Online Catalog contains approximately 14 million records representing books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials. The Catalog also displays searching aids for users, such as cross-references and scope notes. Items identified through this catalog can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Lives of Scottish Poets from the VT Center for Applied Technology in the Humanities
    Lives of Scottish Poets
This resource is freely accessible

Lives of Scottish Poets from the VT Center for Applied Technology in the Humanities

An online edition of an 1821-22 collection of sixty-four biographies of Scottish poets with a supplement of 190 minor lives.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010