Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Countries and cultures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Making of the Modern World from Gale
    Making of the Modern World
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Making of the Modern World from Gale

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1914 provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, and more.  

Full record

Jun 29, 2014 e1001698
Mango for Libraries
    Mango for Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Mango for Libraries

Mango offers online, self-paced, conversational, language-learning courses, including over 60 foreign languages for English speakers (including ancient languages), plus 16 courses of English as a second language. You can also watch films with subtitles and other features. Create a profile on the site to begin; use that profile to access Mango through iOS and Android apps. A microphone is strongly suggested for some exercises.

Full record

Jan 25, 2013 e1001378
Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across three subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
MarketLine
    Marketline
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

MarketLine

MarketLine provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes industry profiles (with size, segmentation, and competitive analysis); company profiles of 50,000 public and private companies; country profiles; three databases (base drivers, consumer markets, financial deals); as well as news, comment, and analysis.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000622
Military & Government Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Military & Government Collection from EBSCOhost

The Military & Government Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, news sources, primary source documents, legislative acts and proclamations, and other publications covering all aspects of the military. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000648
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
    Archives Unbound
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia

This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. There are accounts on farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore, providing a view of the region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, and from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, and the social, political, economic, scientific, religious, and agricultural characteristics of the region. 1700-1950.  

Full record

Jun 26, 2014 e1001699
PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest

PAIS International indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material on all aspects of international affairs and politics. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.1914-present.

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000063