Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across three subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
MasterFILE Premier from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

MasterFILE Premier from EBSCOhost

MasterFILE Premier indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books and reference works (including the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, and Book of Facts), primary source documents, photos, maps, flags, biographies, book reviews from Magill Book Reviews, and news transcripts. Full text available in HTML, PDF, and some scanned image formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000646
Medicine encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Medicine encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 64,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Mergent Intellect
    Mergent intellect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect provides business data and reports, industry news and profiles, executive contact information, plus nationwide residential white pages search.  

Full record

Feb 26, 2013 e10015760
Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary
    Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary
This resource is freely accessible

Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary

When you know what something looks like but not what it's called, or when you know the word but can't picture the object, a visual dictionary is a quick solution. In a quick look, you can match the word to the image. In Merriam Webster's version, the image realistically and precisely shows an object, a process or a phenomenon, and the most significant details of its composition. It serves as a visual definition for each of the terms presented. Includes over 6000 images and 20,000 definitions

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Middle English Compendium
    Middle English Compendium
This resource is freely accessible

Middle English Compendium

The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000195
Miitary History encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Military History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across six subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 8,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Mythology and Folklore encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Mythology and Folklore encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 14,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118