Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
MEDLINE from PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from PubMed (NLM)

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1946-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000266
Making of America from Cornell University
    Making of America
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Making of America from Cornell University

Making of America provides digital reproductions of primary sources related to development of the U.S. infrastructure. Content is provided in text, GIF, and PDF formats. Major segments of this collection include magazines, ebooks, and Civil War documents. 1840-1900.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Making of America from the University of Michigan
    Making of America
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Making of America from the University of Michigan

Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Content is available in text, GIF, and PDF formats. 1840-1900.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
MeSH Catalog from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

MeSH Catalog from NLM

MeSH is NLM's controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in PubMed. MeSH terminology provides a consistent way to retrieve information that may use different terminology for the same concepts. Use the MeSH catalog to build a PubMed search strategy.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Merck Veterinary Manual
    Merck Veterinary Manual
This resource is freely accessible

Merck Veterinary Manual

The Merck Veterinary Manual provides full-text reference articles in HTML on animal health topics. References are not included. You can search or browse entries.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary
    Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary
This resource is freely accessible

Merriam Webster Visual Dictionary

When you know what something looks like but not what it's called, or when you know the word but can't picture the object, a visual dictionary is a quick solution. In a quick look, you can match the word to the image. In Merriam Webster's version, the image realistically and precisely shows an object, a process or a phenomenon, and the most significant details of its composition. It serves as a visual definition for each of the terms presented. Includes over 6000 images and 20,000 definitions

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
MetaLib from GPO
    GPO Metalib
This resource is freely accessible

MetaLib from GPO

Search across multiple government databases (currently 53 databases, including reference databases, digital repositories, or subject-based Web gateways) to find reports, articles, and citations. Search individual databases or create sets of databases with the A-Z Resource List. Access and search the "native" interface of these databases from the originating institution/agency. Email or export records in various formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Middle English Compendium
    Middle English Compendium
This resource is freely accessible

Middle English Compendium

The Middle English Compendium has been designed to offer easy access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000195
Modern English Collection from the Electronic Text Center at UVA
    Electronic Text Center
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Modern English Collection from the Electronic Text Center at UVA

This heterogeneous collection contains fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama, letters, newspapers, manuscripts and illustrations, arranged for browsing by author's last name or by category of interest. Each text is encoded in either SGML or XML and includes a bibliographic header with details about the creation of the electronic text and its print source. 1500s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010