Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Restricted to Virginia Tech users

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

This resources is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Off campus users should make use of Off Campus Sign In.

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
MADCAD
    Madcad
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

MADCAD

MADCAD indexes full-text building codes, evaluation standards, design standards, and technical bulletins from ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, ASTM, FEMA, NFPA, and SMACNA, plus state codes from Virginia in HTML and PDF. 1981-present. 

Full record

Jun 17, 2012 e1001236
MEDLINE from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from ProQuest

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 2000-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000061
MEDLINE from Thomson Web of Science
    ISI Web of Science
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from Thomson Web of Science

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine,nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of clinical queries, age, gender and species of subject, and review articles that summaries research on a topic. 1950-present.  

Full record

Jun 19, 2013 e1001640
MEDLINE from WorldCat
    WorldCat Discovery
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MEDLINE from WorldCat

MEDLINE indexes citations, abstracts and full text from journal articles, case studies, conference papers, clinical trial reports, news reports, and reviews in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to types of articles such as review articles and clinial trial reports. 1950-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000086
METADEX from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

METADEX from ProQuest

METADEX indexes citations and abstracts for articles, conference papers, books, book chapters, essays, reports, dissertations, and patents covering all aspects of metals and alloys. Some images, charts, and graphs are included in the database. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1966-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000062
MLA Directory of Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The Directory of Periodicals contain extensive information aout the journals and book series indexes in the MLA International Bibliography. The records consist of editorial addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers, e-mail addresses, frequency of publication, descriptions of the periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, subscription prices and addresses, advertising information, submission guidelines, and information on whether or not journals are peer reviewed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.  

Full record

Mar 6, 2014 e1000119
MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of VirginiaContents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MLA International Bibliography from ProQuest

MLA International Bibliography indexes citations to journal articles, books, dissertations, and scholarly web sites in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts. Coverage includes literature from all over the world and includes citations to materials in many languages other than English. 1926-present.  

Full record

Jul 31, 2013 e1000119
Making of the Modern World from Gale
    Making of the Modern World
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Making of the Modern World from Gale

The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1914 provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies, and more.  

Full record

Jun 29, 2014 e1001698
Mango for Libraries
    Mango for Libraries
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Mango for Libraries

Mango offers online, self-paced, conversational, language-learning courses, including over 60 foreign languages for English speakers (including ancient languages), plus 16 courses of English as a second language. You can also watch films with subtitles and other features. Create a profile on the site to begin; use that profile to access Mango through iOS and Android apps. A microphone is strongly suggested for some exercises.

Full record

Jan 25, 2013 e1001378
Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Maps and Illustration encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across three subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including locator, physical and political maps for each country, over 120 island maps, state maps for North America, Canada, and Mexico, and more than 100 city maps. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
MarketLine
    Marketline
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

MarketLine

MarketLine provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes industry profiles (with size, segmentation, and competitive analysis); company profiles of 50,000 public and private companies; country profiles; three databases (base drivers, consumer markets, financial deals); as well as news, comment, and analysis.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000622
MasterFILE Premier from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

MasterFILE Premier from EBSCOhost

MasterFILE Premier indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles, books and reference works (including the World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary, and Book of Facts), primary source documents, photos, maps, flags, biographies, book reviews from Magill Book Reviews, and news transcripts. Full text available in HTML, PDF, and some scanned image formats. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000646
Material ConneXion
    Material ConneXion
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Material ConneXion

Material ConneXion provides full-text data on materials used in architecture, interior and industrial design, fashion and apparel, and landscaping. Materials include polymers, ceramics, glass, metals, cements, and natural materials. Processing and sustainability information, physical and usage properties, and manufacturers are listed.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000865
Materials Business File from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Materials Business File from ProQuest

Materials Business File indexes citations and abstracts of industry news, product and process developments, plant development and construction, international trade data, government regulations, management issues, and other business and industry information in engineering fields. Sources include newspapers, magazines, and journals, books and book chapters, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and patents. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000053
Materials Research Databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Materials Research Databases from ProQuest

Materials Research Database indexes citations and abstracts of journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal articles, patents, and books on all aspects of materials science with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. 1880s-present.  

Full record

Sep 3, 2012 e1001377
MathSciNet
    MathSciNet
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

MathSciNet

MathSciNet indexes citations, abstracts, full text, and reviews of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and dissertation in the mathematical sciences. Content is available in HTML and PDF. This database allows cited reference searching. 1800s-present.    

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000124
Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts - MTEA from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts - MTEA from ProQuest

MTEA indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books and book chapters, reports, dissertations, and patents in mechanical and transportation engineering and related fields in business, math, and computer science. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1966-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000137
MedicLatina from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

MedicLatina from EBSCOhost

MedicLatina indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Most of the content is in Spanish, though English abstracts are available for some articles. Full text content is PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1990s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000647
Medicine encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Medicine encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 64,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print from EBSCOhost

The Mental Measurement Yearbook provides descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests that are commercially-available. Each entry contains descriptive info (test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited reviews written by leading area experts, but not the actual tests, though links may be provided. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.Vol 1-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000170
Mergent BondViewer
    Mergent BondViewer
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mergent BondViewer

Mergent BondViewer indexes reports and data on U.S. taxable bonds, municipal bonds, and retail notes. Reports can be exported as HTML , PDF, Word, and Excel files. 1980s-present.  

Full record

Mar 27, 2012 e1001200
Mergent Corporate Manual Search
    Mergent Manuals
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mergent Corporate Manual Search

Mergent Corporate Manuals (also called Mergent Web Reports) offeris a vast archive of corporate annual, quarterly and interim reports from over 100 countries. Mergent provides the ability to search documents by company name, region, country, document type or year of report. Corporate Manuals also includes company summaries, which provides a quick overview of each company in the database and includes address details, contact phone and fax numbers. 1909-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000754
Mergent Historical Annual Reports (Mergent Archives)
    Mergent Historical Annual Reports (Mergent Archives)
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mergent Historical Annual Reports (Mergent Archives)

Mergent provides full-text annual reports for companies worldwide, digitized documents like Moody's Manual, equity reports, industry reports, and country reports. 1909-present.  

Full record

Mar 30, 2012 e1001199
Mergent Intellect
    Mergent intellect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect provides business data and reports, industry news and profiles, executive contact information, plus nationwide residential white pages search.  

Full record

Feb 26, 2013 e10015760
Mergent Online
    Mergent
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

Mergent Online

Provides company, industry, and country reports for active and inactive, public and some private companies. Reports provided in PDF and can be exported as Word or Excel files. It includes 15 years of financial statement.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000189
Mergent's Event Data
    Mergent EventsData
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mergent's Events Data

Mergent's Event Data provides on-going updated information on stock-splits, mergers, tender offers, partial/full calls, and name changes in almost real time. You can research 10 years of corporate actions, dividends, fixed income, and unit investment trust data.  

Full record

Aug 23, 2012
Miitary History encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Military History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across six subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 8,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Military & Government Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Military & Government Collection from EBSCOhost

The Military & Government Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals, news sources, primary source documents, legislative acts and proclamations, and other publications covering all aspects of the military. Full text presented in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1975-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000648
Mintel Oxygen Academic
    Mintel
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Mintel Oxygen Academic

Mintel offers over 900 market research reports focused on the broad categories of: beauty and personal, drink, electronics, food and foodservice, health and medical, health and wellness, household, lifestyles, retailing and travel. The reports can be searched for product, brand name or keyword. Mintel also offers news articles related to marketing, reports of company management changes, and company profiles. 

When logging into the database, you must accept conditions of use and login with your email and a password that you create. You must use your Virginia Tech email for this system. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000188
Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976, from Chadwyck
    Chadwyck-Healey GPO Monthly Access
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications, 1895-1976, from Chadwyck

The Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications includes citations to all government publications from 1895 to 1976. (For later coverage, see the GPO Monthly Catalog from WorldCat , which continues the coverage contained in this database.) Researchers can search for keywords across all issues or during a specific period, find documents by individual or corporate author, or search any of the other fields included in the records.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000789
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
    Archives Unbound
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia

This collection consists of the diaries, journals, and narratives of explorers, emigrants, military men, Native Americans, and travelers. There are accounts on farming and mining communities, family histories, and folklore, providing a view of the region between Lexington, Kentucky and Winchester, Virginia, and from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania to Birmingham, Alabama, and the social, political, economic, scientific, religious, and agricultural characteristics of the region. 1700-1950.  

Full record

Jun 26, 2014 e1001699
Music Index from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Music Index from EBSCOhost

Music Index Online indexes citations and abstracts for journal articles, book and performance reviews, obituaries, and proceedings on music, musicians, and the music industry in both classical and pop music. 1973-present with selective coverage from 1962-1972. See print index for earlier coverage.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000237
Mythology and Folklore encyclopedias from Oxford Refernce Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Mythology and Folklore encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries, including more than 14,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database from ProQuest

The NCJRS: National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database indexes abstracts and full-text of journal articles, conference papers, books, and federal, state and local government reports in the field of criminology and criminal justice. The full-text materials are available in both HTML and PDF. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000059
Neurosciences Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Neurosciences Abstracts from ProQuest

Neuroscience Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, and patents in the fields of medicine, neural diseases like Alzheimer's, molecular neurobiology, biological sciences, neurophysiology, and biophysics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000058
Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource 

Newspaper Source Plus from EBSCOhost

Newspaper Source Plus indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from more than 860 newspapers. Full-text articles are available in PDF format.The database covers major newspapers and television and radio news transcripts. 1985-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000649
Nucleic Acids Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Nucleic Acids Abstracts from ProQuest

Nucleic Acids Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and patents in the fields of biochemistry, biological sciences, genetics, biotechnology, and bioengineering. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1982-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000057
Oceanic Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oceanic Abstracts from ProQuest

Oceanic Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles and conference papers in the fields of ecology, marine geology, biological oceanography, marine pollution, geophysics, geochemistry, marine biology, and maritime law. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000055
Oncogenes & Growth Factors Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oncogenes & Growth Factors Abstracts from ProQuest

Oncogenes and Growth Factory Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference papers, and books in the fields of medicine, immunology, virology, bacteriology, genetics, molecular biology, cell growth, and oncogenesis. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1989-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000056
PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest

PAIS International indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material on all aspects of international affairs and politics. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.1914-present.

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000063
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress from ProQuest

PILOTS indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations in the fields of mental-health, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), psychology, professional ethics, public policy, and scientific methodology related to traumatized populations. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1960-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000461
Philosopher's Index from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Philosopher's Index from ProQuest

The Philosopher's Index indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, books, chapters/essays, book reviews in the fields of philosophy, aesthetics, metaphysics, social philosophy, and axiology. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1940-present

 Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000171
Physical Education Index from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Physical Education Index from ProQuest

Physical Education Index indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, conference papers, books, reports, dissertations, and patents in the fields of education, medicine and life sciences, and business. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000065
Plant Science from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Plant Science from ProQuest

Plant Science indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, and books in the fields of plant and related life sciences. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1994-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000066
Pollution Abstracts from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Pollution Abstracts from ProQuest

Pollution Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from conference proceedings, journal articles, books, reports, and dissertations in the fields of air pollution, marine pollution, waste management, land pollution, toxicology and health, and radiation. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1981-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000067