Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Ebook packages

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Search for full-text electronic books offered through various collections
  • Most offer full text searching capabilities, though some limit search terms to the title, author, table of contents and notes fields
  • Many of the individual ebooks will also be listed in Addison
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
NCBI National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

The NCBI Bookshelf hosts full-text books (mostly as PDFs) that can be searched or browsed. Titles are also linked from other NCBI databases such as PubMed.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Academies Press
    National Academies Press
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Academies Press

The National Academies Press provides over 4000 free PDF ebooks (most of their published titles). Free registration is required before you can download the PDFs. You can download a single PDF for the entire book, or one for each chapter. We link from the Addison screen for our print copies to the online version on the NAP site. You can browse subject categories or search across the collection.

Full record

Jul 30, 2012
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) from Gale
    Nineteenth Century Literarture Online from Gale
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) from Gale

NCCO indexes the full text of books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, maps, diaries, photographs, statistics, literature, government reports, treaties, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages as HTML and PDF, plus some image formats. Subject areas include British politics and society, religion, education, international relations, economics, and English, French, and German literature. 1789-1914.  

Full record

May 30, 2012 e1001235