Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
NAICS North American Industry Classification System Lookup
    NAICS
This resource is freely accessible

NAICS North American Industry Classification System Lookup

NAICS is the standard used by federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Enter a keyword that describes your kind of business. A list of primary business activities containing that keyword and the corresponding NAICS codes will appear. Choose the one that most closely corresponds to your primary business activity, or refine your search to obtain other choices.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)
    NASA Technical Reports Server
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)

NTRS indexes citations, full-text documents, and multimedia content from NACA and NASA publications and research reports. Content includes conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, theses and dissertations, images, movies, and technical videos. Full text available as PDFs. 1903-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000155
NCBI National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf

The NCBI Bookshelf hosts full-text books (mostly as PDFs) that can be searched or browsed. Titles are also linked from other NCBI databases such as PubMed.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
NINES: Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online
    N I N E S: Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online
This resource is freely accessible

N I N E S: Nineteenth Century Scholarship Online

NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-Century Electronic Scholarship) indexes citations to publications, manuscripts, art, and photos, with links to full text (some in restricted access databases) and acts as a clearinghouse for peer-reviewed digital resources, which can be collected, annotated, and re-used in online "exhibits."

Full record

Apr 23, 2012
National Academies Press
    National Academies Press
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Academies Press

The National Academies Press provides over 4000 free PDF ebooks (most of their published titles). Free registration is required before you can download the PDFs. You can download a single PDF for the entire book, or one for each chapter. We link from the Addison screen for our print copies to the online version on the NAP site. You can browse subject categories or search across the collection.

Full record

Jul 30, 2012
National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA
    USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Atlas of the United States
    National Atlas
This resource is freely accessible

National Atlas of the United States

The National Atlas of the United States is an interactive, online version of the print atlas. Maps available as GIF and PDF. Vector files are available in Shapefile and SDTS-TVP formats. Geostatistical data are in DBF format. Images are GeoTIFF files.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Center for Education Statistics from the US Department of Education
    US Dept of Education National Center for Education Statistics
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Center for Education Statistics from the US Department of Education

NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology, plus library statistics. Reports presented as PDFs; data sets can be customized as HTML tables or downloaded in a variety of formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Climatic Data Center
    National Climatic Data Center
This resource is freely accessible

National Climatic Data Center

The National Climatic Data Center provides data sets on climate and weather, plus full-text publications in PDF that summarize this data. Free access to some data sets requires connecting from a campus computer or through Off Campus Sign In.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Defense University Digital Collections
    National Defense Library
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Defense University Digital Collections

Keyword-searchable and browseable archive of the free online books, journals, working papers, and policy briefs published by the US National Defense University. Also includes links to official US national strategy documents and other documents dealing with military policy. Some linked materials are not accessible to non-NDU users. 1984-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Geographic Society Publications Index
    National Geographic
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Geographic Society Publications Index

The NGS Publications Index contains over 30,000 citations, each describing a magazine article, book, map, or other Society product,. Use Addison, the library catalog to locate specific issues. 1888-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Jukebox from the Library of Congress
    National Jukebox from the Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible

National Jukebox from the Library of Congress

The National Jukebox provides streaming music (via an embedded Adobe Flash player) from their collection of music and spoken word recordings and from other participating libraries. You can browse or search for recordings or playlists. 1910-1929.

Full record

Aug 2, 2011
National Library of Medicine Catalog
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

National Library of Medicine Catalog

The NLM Catalog provides access to NLM bibliographic data for journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, electronic resources and other materials. It contains detailed MEDLINE indexing information about the journals in PubMed and other NCBI databases. Links to the library's holdings in LocatorPlus, NLM's online public access catalog, are also provided. Use Interlibrary Loan to request titles found in this catalog that are not owned locally.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Map from the USGS
    National Map
This resource is freely accessible

National Map from the USGS

The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views. The US Topo Maps module provides electronic access to topological maps previously received in print.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
    Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text theses and dissertations from around the world. Many are available in full text through this database (otherwise you may be able to request a copy through interlibrary loan). Early 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Newspaper Index (Local Newspapers)
    newspaper index
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Newspaper Index (Local Newspapers)

Full-text index of local newspapers. Covers Virginia Tech, Southwest Virginia and the New River Valley, from the Roanoke Times and World News (Jan 1, 1992-Feb 28, 1997), the News Messenger (1963 to June 1998), The Collegiate Times (1970 to June 1998), the Virginia Tech Spectrum (Fall 1994-Spring 2005).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000278
Nucleotide Database from NLM
    Entrez databases from NLM
This resource is freely accessible

Nucleotide Database from NLM

The Nucleotide Database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including GenBank, RefSeq, TPA and PDB. Genome, gene and transcript sequence data provide the foundation for biomedical research and discovery.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals from NLM

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals is a database of genes, inherited disorders and traits in animal species (other than human and mouse) with links to relevant records from OMIM, PubMed, Gene, and soon to NCBI's Phenotype database.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

OMIM: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man from NLM

Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) is a compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes. OMIM focuses on the relationship between phenotype and genotype.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010