Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Statistics and data sets

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Compiled statistics and collections of survey instruments and raw data
  • GIS
  • Census data
  • Public opinion polls
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)
    NASA Technical Reports Server
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)

NTRS indexes citations, full-text documents, and multimedia content from NACA and NASA publications and research reports. Content includes conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, theses and dissertations, images, movies, and technical videos. Full text available as PDFs. 1903-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000155
National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA
    USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) from ICPSR

NACDA provides both data sets relevant to gerontological research and an index of citations for journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, unpublished manuscripts, magazine and newspaper articles, and audiovisual materials that reference data held in the NACDA and ISCPR archives. 1862-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) from ICPSR

NACJD provides both data sets related to criminal justice and criminology and an index of citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, government and agency reports, working papers, dissertations, conference papers, meeting presentations, and unpublished manuscripts based on this data.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
National Atlas of the United States
    National Atlas
This resource is freely accessible

National Atlas of the United States

The National Atlas of the United States is an interactive, online version of the print atlas. Maps available as GIF and PDF. Vector files are available in Shapefile and SDTS-TVP formats. Geostatistical data are in DBF format. Images are GeoTIFF files.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Center for Education Statistics from the US Department of Education
    US Dept of Education National Center for Education Statistics
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Center for Education Statistics from the US Department of Education

NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology, plus library statistics. Reports presented as PDFs; data sets can be customized as HTML tables or downloaded in a variety of formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Climatic Data Center
    National Climatic Data Center
This resource is freely accessible

National Climatic Data Center

The National Climatic Data Center provides data sets on climate and weather, plus full-text publications in PDF that summarize this data. Free access to some data sets requires connecting from a campus computer or through Off Campus Sign In.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Map from the USGS
    National Map
This resource is freely accessible

National Map from the USGS

The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views. The US Topo Maps module provides electronic access to topological maps previously received in print.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Statistics (United Kingdom)
    UK National Statistics
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

National Statistics (United Kingdom)

Summaries and detailed data releases on Britain's economy, population and society at national and local level, from the British Office of National Statistics.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000191