Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Contents of database in Summon

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Contents of this database available in Summon.

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)
    NASA Technical Reports Server
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS)

NTRS indexes citations, full-text documents, and multimedia content from NACA and NASA publications and research reports. Content includes conference papers, journal articles, meeting papers, patents, research reports, theses and dissertations, images, movies, and technical videos. Full text available as PDFs. 1903-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000155
National Academies Press
    National Academies Press
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Academies Press

The National Academies Press provides over 4000 free PDF ebooks (most of their published titles). Free registration is required before you can download the PDFs. You can download a single PDF for the entire book, or one for each chapter. We link from the Addison screen for our print copies to the online version on the NAP site. You can browse subject categories or search across the collection.

Full record

Jul 30, 2012
National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA
    USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Agriculture Statistics Service (NASS) from USDA

NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Center for Education Statistics from the US Department of Education
    US Dept of Education National Center for Education Statistics
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Center for Education Statistics from the US Department of Education

NCES issues numerous publications and datasets each year. These include: early releases, issue briefs, statistical reports, directories, and handbooks of standard terminology, plus library statistics. Reports presented as PDFs; data sets can be customized as HTML tables or downloaded in a variety of formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Defense University Digital Collections
    National Defense Library
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Defense University Digital Collections

Keyword-searchable and browseable archive of the free online books, journals, working papers, and policy briefs published by the US National Defense University. Also includes links to official US national strategy documents and other documents dealing with military policy. Some linked materials are not accessible to non-NDU users. 1984-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
National Geographic Society Publications Index
    National Geographic
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

National Geographic Society Publications Index

The NGS Publications Index contains over 30,000 citations, each describing a magazine article, book, map, or other Society product,. Use Addison, the library catalog to locate specific issues. 1888-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Natural History encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Natural History Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across eight subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 10,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Naxos Music Library
    Naxos Music Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library provides streaming music from classical, jazz, world music, pop, rock, and Chinese orchestral CDs. NML also provides libretti and synopses for operas, a pronunciation guide for composer and artist names, an overview of musical terms, and work analyses and details with instrumentation, publishers, duration, work information and available recordings.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000883
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
    Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Gold open access - publishing

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text theses and dissertations from around the world. Many are available in full text through this database (otherwise you may be able to request a copy through interlibrary loan). Early 1900s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
News and Newspaper databases from ProQuest
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

News & Newspaper databases from ProQuest

This database indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for journal and newspaper articles from historical and current, international and domestic newspaper databases on the ProQuest platform. Use the Databases link at the top of the screen to change which databases are searched. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1681-present.  

Full record

Jun 28, 2012 e1001251
Newspaper Index (Local Newspapers)
    newspaper index
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Newspaper Index (Local Newspapers)

Full-text index of local newspapers. Covers Virginia Tech, Southwest Virginia and the New River Valley, from the Roanoke Times and World News (Jan 1, 1992-Feb 28, 1997), the News Messenger (1963 to June 1998), The Collegiate Times (1970 to June 1998), the Virginia Tech Spectrum (Fall 1994-Spring 2005).  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000278