<?xml version="1.0"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom">
<channel>	
 <atom:link href="http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/tags/O/countries-cultures-rss2.xml" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
 <title>Countries and cultures</title>
 <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/tags/O/countries-cultures.html</link>
 <description></description>
 <language>en</language>
 <pubDate>Wed, 08 Sep 2010 13:21:18 -0400</pubDate>
 <managingEditor>webmaster@lib.vt.edu</managingEditor>
 <webMaster>webmaster@lib.vt.edu</webMaster>
 <docs>http://cyber.law.harvard.edu/rss/rss.html</docs>
 <item>
  <title>Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/open-knowledge-repository-from-world-bank.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/O/S_okr.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Open Knowledge Repository&quot; height=&quot;111px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_summon.gif&quot; title=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Green open access - self archiving&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_open-access-green.gif&quot; title=&quot;Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia&quot; width=&quot;14&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Gold open access - publishing&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_open-access-gold.gif&quot; title=&quot;Gold open access - publishing&quot; width=&quot;14&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/discover&quot; title=&quot;Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;https://openknowledge.worldbank.org/discover&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;The &lt;i&gt;Open Knowledge Repository&lt;/i&gt; provides full-text reports, journals, working papers, books, and economic studies in HTML and PDF on international economic topics. 1978-present. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1001334&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/open-knowledge-repository-from-world-bank.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 16 Jul 2012 11:42:00 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/open-knowledge-repository-from-world-bank.html</guid>
  <category>Academic search engines</category>
  <category>Conference papers, preprints, and working papers</category>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Ebook packages</category>
  <category>Reports, standards, and financials</category>
  <category>Statistics and data sets</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
  <category>Contents of database in Summon</category>
  <category>Gold open access: publishing</category>
  <category>Green open access: self archiving</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Orlando: Women&apos;s Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present from Cambridge</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/orlando-cambridge.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/O/S_orlando.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Orlando&quot; height=&quot;113px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://orlando.cambridge.org/&quot; title=&quot;Orlando: Women&apos;s Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://orlando.cambridge.org/&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Orlando: Women&apos;s Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;Orlando&lt;/i&gt; indexes citations and full-text biographical and critical material for over 800 British women writers, including literary, social, and historical materials. Early medieval-present. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1001228&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/orlando-cambridge.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Sun, 27 May 2012 11:42:00 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/orlando-cambridge.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs</category>
  <category>Reviews and critiques</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Oxford Guide to Countries of the World</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-guide-to-countries-of-the-world.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; width: 200px; float: left;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/O/S_oxford-ref.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Oxford Reference&quot; height=&quot;142px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_viva.gif&quot; title=&quot;Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia&quot; width=&quot;36&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;database provides Get VText links&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_getvtext-20.gif&quot; title=&quot;database provides Get VText links&quot; width=&quot;80&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t42&quot; title=&quot;Oxford Guide to Countries of the World&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t42&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Oxford Guide to Countries of the World&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;Organized alphabetically, each entry offers a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. For each country there is a map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. References are linked via Get VText.&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-guide-to-countries-of-the-world.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-guide-to-countries-of-the-world.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
  <category>VIVA</category>
  <category>Get VText</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World from Oxford Reference</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-dictionary-of-the-classical-world-from-oxford-reference.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/O/S_oxford-ref.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Oxford Reference&quot; height=&quot;142px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_viva.gif&quot; title=&quot;Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia&quot; width=&quot;36&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;database provides Get VText links&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_getvtext-20.gif&quot; title=&quot;database provides Get VText links&quot; width=&quot;80&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t180&quot; title=&quot;Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World from Oxford Reference&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t180&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World from Oxford Reference&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;Search or browse over 2500 entries on almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno. References are linked via Get VText. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000118&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-dictionary-of-the-classical-world-from-oxford-reference.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-dictionary-of-the-classical-world-from-oxford-reference.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
  <category>VIVA</category>
  <category>Get VText</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Oxford Dictionary of National Biography</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-dictionary-of-national-biography.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/O/S_odnb.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Oxford Dictionary of National Biography&quot; height=&quot;124px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_summon.gif&quot; title=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oxforddnb.com&quot; title=&quot;Oxford Dictionary of National Biography&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.oxforddnb.com&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Oxford Dictionary of National Biography&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography&lt;/i&gt; is an illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain&apos;s past. Limited to &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-concurrentusers&quot; title=&quot;e1000265&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt; simultaneous user. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000265&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-dictionary-of-national-biography.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oxford-dictionary-of-national-biography.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
  <category>Contents of database in Summon</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>Oral History Online from Alexander Street Press</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oral-history-online-from-alexander-street-press.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/A/S_alexander-street-press.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;Alexander Street Press&quot; height=&quot;145px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/orhilive&quot; title=&quot;Oral History Online from Alexander Street Press&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.alexanderstreet2.com/orhilive&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;Oral History Online from Alexander Street Press&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;Oral History Online&lt;/i&gt; is both an index of full-text interviews and other oral history narratives and free oral history information online. The narratives cover diverse subjects, including civil rights and race relations, labor history, African American history, women&apos;s history, immigration studies, political history, American Indian history, regional history, and more. &lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000141&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oral-history-online-from-alexander-street-press.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oral-history-online-from-alexander-street-press.html</guid>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Multimedia</category>
  <category>Narratives, diaries, and letters</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
 </item>        
 <item>
  <title>OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development</title>
  <link>http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oecd-organisation-for-economic-co-operation-and-development.html</link>
  <description>&lt;div style=&quot; float: left; width: 200px;&quot;&gt;&lt;div class=&quot;vt_img_left vt_small_img&quot;&gt; 
    &lt;span class=&quot;top&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
    &lt;span class=&quot;bottom&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;
   	&lt;img src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/databases/O/S_oecd.jpg&quot; alt=&quot;OECD&quot; height=&quot;139px&quot; width=&quot;185px&quot; /&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/icons/L_vtonly.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only&quot; width=&quot;15&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_free-database.gif&quot; title=&quot;This resource is freely accessible&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&#160;&lt;img alt=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; class=&quot;dsp2&quot; height=&quot;20&quot; src=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/images/L_summon.gif&quot; title=&quot;Contents of this resource available through Summon&quot; width=&quot;20&quot; /&gt;&lt;/div&gt;&lt;h2&gt;&lt;span&gt;
&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/search/advanced&quot; title=&quot;OECD iLibrary (Organisation for EconomicCo-operation and Development)&quot; class=&quot;vt_link_url&quot; onclick=&quot;pageTracker._trackPageview(&apos;http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/search/advanced&apos;)&quot; shape=&quot;rect&quot;&gt;OECD iLibrary (Organisation for EconomicCo-operation and Development)&lt;/a&gt;
&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/h2&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;i&gt;OECD iLibrary&lt;/i&gt; indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, reports, and ebooks in all areas of world economics. Full text available in HTML and PDF, plus statistics in Excel. Our subscription includes six journals, though many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/factbook&quot;&gt;OECD Factbook&lt;/a&gt;, &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/papers&quot;&gt;Working Papers&lt;/a&gt;, OECD &lt;a href=&quot;http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/statistics&quot;&gt;Key Tables&lt;/a&gt;, and more. 1997-present. &#160;&lt;span class=&quot;majax-erm-advisory&quot; title=&quot;e1000823&quot;&gt;&#160;&lt;/span&gt;&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=&quot;http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oecd-organisation-for-economic-co-operation-and-development.html&quot;&gt;Full record&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
  <pubDate>Mon, 13 Sep 2010 11:42:13 -0400</pubDate>
  <guid isPermaLink="true">http://www.lib.vt.edu/find/databases/O/oecd-organisation-for-economic-co-operation-and-development.html</guid>
  <category>Article searching</category>
  <category>Catalogs (about publications)</category>
  <category>Countries and cultures</category>
  <category>Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs</category>
  <category>Handbooks and manuals</category>
  <category>Reports, standards, and financials</category>
  <category>Statistics and data sets</category>
  <category>Freely accessible databases</category>
  <category>Restricted to Virginia Tech users</category>
  <category>Contents of database in Summon</category>
 </item>        
</channel> 
</rss>