Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Countries and cultures

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
OECD - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
    OECD
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

OECD iLibrary (Organisation for EconomicCo-operation and Development)

OECD iLibrary indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text journal articles, reports, and ebooks in all areas of world economics. Full text available in HTML and PDF, plus statistics in Excel. Our subscription includes six journals, though many content areas are freely available to any site visitor, such as the OECD Factbook, Working Papers, OECD Key Tables, and more. 1997-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000823
Open Knowledge Repository
    Open Knowledge Repository
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving Gold open access - publishing

Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank

The Open Knowledge Repository provides full-text reports, journals, working papers, books, and economic studies in HTML and PDF on international economic topics. 1978-present.  

Full record

Jun 15, 2012
Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank
    Open Knowledge Repository
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving Gold open access - publishing

Open Knowledge Repository from the World Bank

The Open Knowledge Repository provides full-text reports, journals, working papers, books, and economic studies in HTML and PDF on international economic topics. 1978-present.  

Full record

Jul 16, 2012 e1001334
Oral History Online from Alexander Street Press
    Alexander Street Press
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Oral History Online from Alexander Street Press

Oral History Online is both an index of full-text interviews and other oral history narratives and free oral history information online. The narratives cover diverse subjects, including civil rights and race relations, labor history, African American history, women's history, immigration studies, political history, American Indian history, regional history, and more.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000141
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present from Cambridge
    Orlando
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present

Orlando indexes citations and full-text biographical and critical material for over 800 British women writers, including literary, social, and historical materials. Early medieval-present.  

Full record

May 20, 2012 e1001228
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
    Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is an illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Limited to   simultaneous user.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000265
Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World from Oxford Reference
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia database provides Get VText links

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World from Oxford Reference

Search or browse over 2500 entries on almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno. References are linked via Get VText.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Oxford Guide to Countries of the World
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia database provides Get VText links

Oxford Guide to Countries of the World

Organized alphabetically, each entry offers a brief history and outlines contemporary social, economic, political and religious issues. For each country there is a map and a quick-reference fact box containing data and statistics including languages, population, GDP, capital city, life expectancy, and more. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Oxford Islamic Studies Online
    Oxford Islamic Studies Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Oxford Islamic Studies provides full-text encyclopedia articles, primary source documents, maps, and learning resources about all aspects of Islamic culture.  

Full record

Sep 9, 2013 e1001646