Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Article searching

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Predominantly resources used to locate articles in published periodicals
  • Emphasis on scholarly research
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)
    POPLINE
This resource is freely accessible

POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)

POPLINE indexes citations and abstracts of articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the fields of population, family planning, and related health issues. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1827-present; majority of records 1970-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Paleobiology Database
    Paleobiology Database
This resource is freely accessible

Paleobiology Database

The Paleobiology Database provides researchers with information about the entire fossil record. Data can be downloaded. Tools on the site also let you generate paleomaps, data summary tables, lists of common taxa, first appearances, diversity curves, ecological statistics, time scale confidence intervals, and stratigraphic confidence interval.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
People Search from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

People Search from LexisNexis

People Search includes biographies from reference and news sources, including historical and political figures, entertainers, deceased people featured in various Who's Who publications, and people profiled in major news publications within the last two years. 1985-present, plus a retrospective of major 20th century people.  

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Periodicals Index Online (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Periodicals Index Online (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

PIO is an index of citations to periodical articles in 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and currently indexes over 15 million articles. Some citations are linked to full text in JSTOR. 1665-1995.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus
This resource is freely accessible

Perseus Digital Library

Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PhilPapers
    PhilPapers
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only database provides Get VText links Green open access - self archiving

PhilPapers

PhilPapers indexes citations and full text of journal articles, books, personal web sites, and open access archives in philosophy.  

Full record

Sep 19, 2014 e1001720
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes citations of over 450,000 articles from Anglo-American periodicals. 1803-1906.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
PrimateLit
    PrimateLit
This resource is freely accessible database provides Get VText links

PrimateLit

PrimateLit indexes citation from articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters that concern the life science and medical aspects of non-human primates. 1940-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, and patents on all aspects of aeronautics, technology, computing, meteorology, and telecommunications. Full text journal articles and books provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.  

Full record

Jun 21, 2012 e1001261
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers allows cross searching of full-text national newspapers back to issue one. Full text available as scanned images and PDF. 1847-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000332
ProQuest Recent Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Recent Periodicals

ProQuest Recent Periodicals offers cross searching of full-text databases, including ABI/INFORM from ProQuest (business topics), Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest (the ethnic press worldwide), and GenderWatch from ProQuest (gender issues). Full text provided as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000291
Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) from ICPSR
    ICPSR - InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) from ICPSR

The Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods Provides data sets and the social science and education aspects about urban Chicago. It also indexes article citations about these issues. 1994-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000238
PsycARTICLES from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycARTICLES from APA PsycNET

PsycARTICLES indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to age groups, classification codes, methodology, and population group. 1894-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000103
PsycCRITIQUES from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycCRITIQUES from APA PsycNET

PsycCRITIQUES provides full-text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, and software as well as comparative reviews of books in the field of psychology. Full text available in HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1956-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000245
PsycINFO from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycINFO from APA PsycNET

PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000109
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000650
PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

PubMed indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences, including the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1947-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000266