Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
PLANTS Database from the USDA
    USDA PLANTS
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

PLANTS Database from the USDA

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Fact Sheets provide brief descriptions of a plant, its uses, and cultural recommendations. Plant Guides are similar but more extensive. Both are provided as PDFs. The database also includes an image gallery of photos and line drawings of U.S. plants plus cultivated or foreign taxa.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Paleobiology Database
    Paleobiology Database
This resource is freely accessible

Paleobiology Database

The Paleobiology Database provides researchers with information about the entire fossil record. Data can be downloaded. Tools on the site also let you generate paleomaps, data summary tables, lists of common taxa, first appearances, diversity curves, ecological statistics, time scale confidence intervals, and stratigraphic confidence interval.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
People Search from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

People Search from LexisNexis

People Search includes biographies from reference and news sources, including historical and political figures, entertainers, deceased people featured in various Who's Who publications, and people profiled in major news publications within the last two years. 1985-present, plus a retrospective of major 20th century people.  

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Performing Arts encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Performing Arts encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 39,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus
This resource is freely accessible

Perseus Digital Library

Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Physical Sciences & Mathematics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Physical Science and Mathematics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 22,800 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

 Full record
Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Plunkett Research
    Plunkett Research
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource

Plunkett Research

Plunkett Research provides market research, industry analysis, glossaries, and company profiles in HTML and PDF, plus industry statistics in spreadsheet formats and overview videos.  

Full record

May 22, 2012 e1001229
Political Handbook of the World from CQ Press
    CQ Press Political Handbook of the World
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Political Handbook of the World from CQ Press

The Political Handbook of the World provides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Country profiles include key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications. It also profiles 120 intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, world and regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations. Older editions available in print.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000787
Politics and Social Science Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summondatabase provides Get VText links

Politics and Social Science Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 23 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 65,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Prehistory encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Prehistory encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across five subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 16,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
PsycBOOKS from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycBOOKS from APA PsycNET

PsycBOOKS provides access to over 2500 full-text, scholarly books, plus thousands of book chapters and the complete Encyclopedia of Psychology. Each chapter is available as a PDF. You can limit to age group, classification code, methodology,  population group, and audience. 1597-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000857
Taxonomy Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Taxonomy Database from NLM

The Taxonomy Database provides curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequences database. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010