Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
PANGAEA: Publishing Network for Geoscientific and Environmental Data
    Pangaea
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving

PANGAEA: Publishing Network for Geoscientific and Environmental Data

PANGAEA is an open access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data: climatology, oceanography, geology, ecology, and archaeology related data sets. Journal article citations provided for each data set. Data available in numerous formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PLANTS Database from the USDA
    USDA PLANTS
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

PLANTS Database from the USDA

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Fact Sheets provide brief descriptions of a plant, its uses, and cultural recommendations. Plant Guides are similar but more extensive. Both are provided as PDFs. The database also includes an image gallery of photos and line drawings of U.S. plants plus cultivated or foreign taxa.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)
    POPLINE
This resource is freely accessible

POPLINE (POPulation information onLINE)

POPLINE indexes citations and abstracts of articles, reports, books, and unpublished reports in the fields of population, family planning, and related health issues. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1827-present; majority of records 1970-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Paleobiology Database
    Paleobiology Database
This resource is freely accessible

Paleobiology Database

The Paleobiology Database provides researchers with information about the entire fossil record. Data can be downloaded. Tools on the site also let you generate paleomaps, data summary tables, lists of common taxa, first appearances, diversity curves, ecological statistics, time scale confidence intervals, and stratigraphic confidence interval.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Patent Search from the US Patent and Trademark Office
    US Patent and Trademark Office
This resource is freely accessible

Patent Search from the US Patent and Trademark Office

Contains issued patents and submitted patent applications. Patents from 1790 through 1975 are searchable only by Issue Date, Patent Number, and Current US Classification. When searching for specific numbers in the Patent Number field, patent numbers must be seven characters in length, excluding commas. How to view patent images. 1790-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PatentScope (WIPO)
    World Intellectual Property Organization
This resource is freely accessible

PatentScope (WIPO)

PatentScope is a public database of record for PCT international patent applications published by the World Intellectual Property Organization. It contains approximately 1.7 million international applications. WIPO also introduced a new search interface with simple, structured and browse functions, and the option to display search results as tables or graphs. 1978-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus
This resource is freely accessible

Perseus Digital Library

Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Plantwise Knowledge Bank
    Plantwise Knowledge Bank
This resource is freely accessible

Plantwise Knowledge Bank

The Plantwise Knowledge Bank provides crop pest distribution maps, a diagnostic tool, plus full-text factsheets in HTML and PDF on plants and their pests.  

Full record

Jul 26, 2012 e1001369
PolicyArchive
    Policy Archive
This resource is freely accessible

PolicyArchive

PolicyArchive provides summaries and full text (in PDF) of more than 12,000 documents on public policy topics from 220 think tanks, university research centers, and government agencies. Emphasis is on US domestic policies; for similar content addressing international affairs, see CIAO. Searchable and browseable by topic, author, funder, and publishing body.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PopSet Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PopSet Database from NLM

The PopSet database contains related nucleotide sequences that originate from comparative studies: phylogenetic, population, environmental (ecosystem), and mutational. Each record in the database is a set of nucleotide sequences representing the same molecule from the same species (population, mutation), different identifiable species (phylogenetic), or anonymous species from the same biological community (ecosystem).

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Presidential Speech Archive from the Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive
    Scripps
This resource is freely accessible

Presidential Speech Archive from the Scripps Library and Multimedia Archive

The Scripps Library, through cooperation with various presidential libraries, has been collecting some of the most important presidential speeches in American history. These speeches all have transcripts, and some are available in their entirety in audio or video. 1789-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PrimateLit
    PrimateLit
This resource is freely accessible database provides Get VText links

PrimateLit

PrimateLit indexes citation from articles, books, abstracts, technical reports, dissertations, and book chapters that concern the life science and medical aspects of non-human primates. 1940-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress
This resource is freely accessible

Prints & Photographs Online Catalog from the Library of Congress

The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog contains catalog records and digital images for for photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings held by the Library of Congress. 1400s-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Probe Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Probe Database from NLM

The NCBI Probe Database is a public registry of nucleic acid reagents designed for use in a wide variety of biomedical research applications, together with information on reagent distributors, probe effectiveness, and computed sequence similarities.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Protein Clusters Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Protein Clusters Database from NLM

The Protein Clusters database provides easy access to annotation information, publications, domains, structures, and external links and analysis tools including multiple alignments, phylogenetic trees, and genomic neighborhoods.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Protein Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Protein Database from NLM

The Protein Database is a collection of sequences from several sources, including translations from annotated coding regions in GenBank, RefSeq and TPA, as well as records from SwissProt, PIR, PRF, and PDB. Protein sequences are the fundamental determinants of biological structure and function.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubChem BioAssay Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem BioAssay Database from NLM

The PubChem BioAssay Database contains bioactivity screens of chemical substances described in PubChem Substance. It provides searchable descriptions of each bioassay, including descriptions of the conditions and readouts specific to that screening procedure.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubChem Compound Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem Compound Database from NLM

The PubChem Compounds Database contains validated chemical depiction information provided to describe substances in PubChem Substance. Structures stored within PubChem Compounds are pre-clustered and cross-referenced by identity and similarity groups. Additionally, calculated properties and descriptors are available for searching and filtering of chemical structures.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PubChem Substance Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

PubChem Substance Database from NLM

The PubChem Substances Database contains descriptions of chemical samples, from a variety of sources, and links to PubMed citations, protein 3D structures, and biological screening results that are available in PubChem BioAssay. If the contents of a chemical sample are known, the description includes links to PubChem Compound.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Structure Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Structure Database from NLM

Structure Database indexes data on macromolecules such as proteins. You can view the structures, find similar structures, and see chemical interactions related to these structures.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Taxonomy Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

Taxonomy Database from NLM

The Taxonomy Database provides curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequences database. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UniGene Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

UniGene Database from NLM

UniGene provides an organized view of the transcriptome. Each UniGene entry is a set of transcript sequences that appear to come from the same transcription locus (gene or expressed pseudogene), together with information on protein similarities, gene expression, cDNA clone reagents, and genomic location.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UniSTS Database from NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible

UniSTS Database from NLM

UniSTS is a comprehensive database of sequence tagged sites (STSs) derived from STS-based maps and other experiments. STSs are defined by PCR primer pairs and are associated with additional information such as genomic position, genes, and sequences.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010