Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Newspapers and magazines

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Does not include articles from trade journals
  • Indexes and full-text
  • Popular magazine articles
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

An index to the London Times newspaper microfilm collection (AN T5). Page and column references are provided for navigation of print or microfilm. Does not interface with the Times Digital Archive 1785-2008 (London Times) from Gale (1785-1985), which is produced by a competing database publisher.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Periodicals Index Online (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Periodicals Index Online (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

PIO is an index of citations to periodical articles in 37 key subject areas in the humanities and social sciences and currently indexes over 15 million articles. Some citations are linked to full text in JSTOR. 1665-1995.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Perseus Digital Library
    Perseus
This resource is freely accessible

Perseus Digital Library

Perseus Digital Library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, plus Arabic materials, Germanic materials, 19th-century America, the Renaissance, and Civil War issues of the Richmond Times-Dispatch. It collects texts, images, datasets and other primary materials. The database assembles and structures encyclopedias, maps, grammars, dictionaries and other reference works. 850,000 reference articles provide background on 450,000 people, places, organizations, dictionary definitions, grammatical functions and other topics.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes citations of over 450,000 articles from Anglo-American periodicals. 1803-1906.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers allows cross searching of full-text national newspapers back to issue one. Full text available as scanned images and PDF. 1847-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000332
ProQuest Historical Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Historical Periodicals

ProQuest Historical Periodicals indexes citations and full text of 200 years of American magazines and journals and important newspapers of record. 1740-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296
ProQuest Recent Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Recent Periodicals

ProQuest Recent Periodicals offers cross searching of full-text databases, including ABI/INFORM from ProQuest (business topics), Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest (the ethnic press worldwide), and GenderWatch from ProQuest (gender issues). Full text provided as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000291
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost
    EBSCOhost interface
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource 

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost

The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000650