Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Contents of database in Summon

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

Contents of this database available in Summon.

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
PANGAEA: Publishing Network for Geoscientific and Environmental Data
    Pangaea
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving

PANGAEA: Publishing Network for Geoscientific and Environmental Data

PANGAEA is an open access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data: climatology, oceanography, geology, ecology, and archaeology related data sets. Journal article citations provided for each data set. Data available in numerous formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
PLANTS Database from the USDA
    USDA PLANTS
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

PLANTS Database from the USDA

The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Fact Sheets provide brief descriptions of a plant, its uses, and cultural recommendations. Plant Guides are similar but more extensive. Both are provided as PDFs. The database also includes an image gallery of photos and line drawings of U.S. plants plus cultivated or foreign taxa.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey
    C19 The nineteenth centure index
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1905 (C19) from Chadwyck-Healey

An index to the London Times newspaper microfilm collection (AN T5). Page and column references are provided for navigation of print or microfilm. Does not interface with the Times Digital Archive 1785-2008 (London Times) from Gale (1785-1985), which is produced by a competing database publisher.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000431
Patents from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Patents from LexisNexis

Patents from LexisNexis indexes utility, design and plant patents from U.S., Europe and Japan. Some records will display the full text of the patent with links to associated images. Other patent records contain only abstracts. Search by patent number, assignee, or inventor name. 1790-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
People Search from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

People Search from LexisNexis

People Search includes biographies from reference and news sources, including historical and political figures, entertainers, deceased people featured in various Who's Who publications, and people profiled in major news publications within the last two years. 1985-present, plus a retrospective of major 20th century people.  

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Performing Arts encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Performing Arts encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 11 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 39,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Physical Sciences & Mathematics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Physical Science and Mathematics encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across nine subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 22,800 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

 Full record
Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Political Handbook of the World from CQ Press
    CQ Press Political Handbook of the World
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

Political Handbook of the World from CQ Press

The Political Handbook of the World provides information on the major aspects of each country's government and political party system. Country profiles include key facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications. It also profiles 120 intergovernmental organizations, such as OPEC, NATO, the WTO, world and regional banks, and the agencies and specialized bodies of the United Nations. Older editions available in print.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000787
Politics and Social Science Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summondatabase provides Get VText links

Politics and Social Science Encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across 23 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 65,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
Prehistory encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online
    Oxford Reference
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Prehistory encyclopedias from Oxford Reference Online

Search or browse across five subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 16,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000118
ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection

Advanced Technologies & Aerospace Collection indexes citations, abstracts, and full text of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, and patents on all aspects of aeronautics, technology, computing, meteorology, and telecommunications. Full text journal articles and books provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1962-present.  

Full record

Jun 21, 2012 e1001261
ProQuest Congressional
    ProQuest Congressional
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional indexes citation to and provides some full text for congressional publications and legislative history. 1969-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000115
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers allows cross searching of full-text national newspapers back to issue one. Full text available as scanned images and PDF. 1847-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000332
ProQuest Historical Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Historical Periodicals

ProQuest Historical Periodicals indexes citations and full text of 200 years of American magazines and journals and important newspapers of record. 1740-2007.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000296
ProQuest Recent Periodicals
    ProQuest search screen
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

ProQuest Recent Periodicals

ProQuest Recent Periodicals offers cross searching of full-text databases, including ABI/INFORM from ProQuest (business topics), Ethnic NewsWatch from ProQuest (the ethnic press worldwide), and GenderWatch from ProQuest (gender issues). Full text provided as PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000291
PsycARTICLES from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycARTICLES from APA PsycNET

PsycARTICLES indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to age groups, classification codes, methodology, and population group. 1894-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000103
PsycBOOKS from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycBOOKS from APA PsycNET

PsycBOOKS provides access to over 2500 full-text, scholarly books, plus thousands of book chapters and the complete Encyclopedia of Psychology. Each chapter is available as a PDF. You can limit to age group, classification code, methodology,  population group, and audience. 1597-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000857
PsycCRITIQUES from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycCRITIQUES from APA PsycNET

PsycCRITIQUES provides full-text reviews of current books and some popular films, videos, and software as well as comparative reviews of books in the field of psychology. Full text available in HTML. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1956-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000245
PsycINFO from APA PsycNET
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycINFO from APA PsycNET

PsycINFO indexes citations, abstracts, cited references, and some full text from articles, books, dissertations, and reviews on all aspects of psychology. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources, age group, classification code, methodology, and population group. 1840-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000109
PsycNET from APA
    PsycNET from APA
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PsycNET from APA

Search across the four databases on this platform, or choose individual databases. 1800s-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000109
PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM
    National Library of Medicine
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

PubMed/MEDLINE from the NLM

PubMed indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books in the life sciences, including the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Advanced search limits include types of articles (such as clinical trial, case reports, or review), human or animal studies, and age of subjects. Full text provided as HTML and PDF. 1947-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000266
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge provides full-text ebooks in the social sciences in HTML and PDF.

Full record

Aug 21, 2012 e1001335
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.  

Full record

Jun 19, 2012 e1001202
SEC Filings from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SEC Filings from LexisNexis

SEC Filings contains the full text of EDGAR filings from 1993 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1985. Full text available in HTML.  

Full records

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Shepard's Citations from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Shepard's Citations from LexisNexis

Shepard's Citations  provides a comprehensive case citation and treatment history to verify the validity of case law, statutes, agency opinions, and other legal documents. Only case law is covered in LexisNexis Academic. The Shepard's Citations service also provides a report that shows every opinion where that case has been referenced.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260
Transcripts Search from LexisNexis
    LexisNexis
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

Transcripts Search from LexisNexis

The Transcripts database indexes the full text of broadcast news and other programs from a variety of networks. Full text provided as HTML. 1990-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000260