Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • Encyclopedias, dictionaries, glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
  • Includes general and subject-specific sources
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge provides full-text ebooks in the social sciences in HTML and PDF.

Full record

Aug 21, 2012 e1001335
SAGE Research Methods
    SAGE Research Methods
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

SAGE Research Methods

SAGE Research Methods indexes full-text books, reference sources, the "little green book" series (Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences), the "little blue book" series (Qualitative Research Methods), journal articles, and videos. Since this platform focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used by researchers from the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Full text available in HTML and PDF. You can limit searches by research method type. 1970s-present.  

Full record

Jun 19, 2012 e1001202
Scribner Writers from Gale

    Gale Virtual Reference Library
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Scribner Writers from Gale

Scribner Writers provides full-text essays and literary works in HTML and PDF. It covers authors from around the world and all time periods.  

Full record

Aug 9, 2013 e1001644
Senses: A Comprehensive Reference from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

The Senses: A Comprehensive Reference from ScienceDirect

Six volume work covering vision, audition, olfaction and taste, pain, and somatosensation. Full-text searchable and browsable by author, title, and subject. Each entry is a separate PDF.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000441
Something About the Author Online from Gale
    Gale Literature Criticism Online
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

Something About the Author Online from Gale

Something About the Author Online provides full-text access to all volumes of Gale's award-wining reference set, Something About the Author, the main series, and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series, which contain illustrated biographical profiles of children's authors and illustrators. View scanned images of the entries or export PDFs. 1971-present.   

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000844
Spenser and the Tradition: English Poetry 1579-1830
    Spenser
This resource is freely accessible

Spenser and the Tradition: English Poetry 1579-1830

English Poetry 1579-1830 indexes full-text poems, commentary, and biographical entries on writers from the English-speaking world. Full text in HTML.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosopy
    Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosopy
This resource is freely accessible

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a constantly updated reference work. Entries are presented as HTML. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Treatise on Geophysics from ScienceDirect
    ScienceDirect
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

Treatise on Geophysics from ScienceDirect

The Treatise on Geophysics provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on geophysics: seismology, structure of the earth, minerals, geodesy, geomagnetism, evolution of the earth, and planets and moons. References linked via CrossRef, which generates a Get VText window.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000893