Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
SAE Technical Papers
    Society of Automotive Engineers
This resource is freely accessible

SAE Technical Papers

We do not have a subscription to this database; you cannot download technical papers from it. Use this database to find/verify the paper number and date needed. Then request SAE Technical Papers through ILLiad.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000227
SANREM CRSP (Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resource Management) Knowledgebase from the VT OIRED
    SANREM CRSP
This resource is freely accessible

SANREM CRSP (Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resource Management) Knowledgebase from the VT OIRED

The SANREM CRSP Knowledgebase indexes citations and full-text reports, books, journal articles, videos, and presentations related to sustainable agriculture and natural resource management in the developing world. Full text available in PDF, MS Word, and other formats. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
    SIMBAD
This resource is freely accessible

SIMBAD Astronomical Database

SIMBAD indexes bibliographic references and data on astronomical topics: stars, galaxies, planetary nebulae, clusters, and novae and supernovae. Each object indexes has description data, cross identifications, observational data, plus a general bibliography of references to the object.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
SciTech Connect
    SciTech Connect
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

SciTech Connect

SciTech Connect indexes citations and full-text technical reports, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, and data sets related to publicly available Department of Energy sponsored research. 1940s-present.

Full record

May 3, 2013
Science.Gov search engine
    Science.gov
This resource is freely accessible

Science.Gov search engine

Science.gov is a federated search engine that cross-searches over 45 scientific databases and over 2100 scientific websites.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Scirus
    Scirus
This resource is freely accessible

Scirus

Scirus is a comprehensive science-specific search engine that indexes web pages from scienctific publishers and other content providers. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction Data
    Smart Building Index
This resource is freely accessible

SmartBuilding Index from Reed Construction Data

SmartBuilding Index provides architects, spec writers, engineers and contractors with in-depth information on commercial building products - including technical data, sourcing, cost data, project use examples, and downloadable specs, CAD and BIM objects.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Smithsonian Institution Digital Libraries
    Smithsonian
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Smithsonian Institution Digital Library

The Smithsonian Library's Digital Library contains digital publications, collections and objects including online exhibitions, webcasts, digital editions, bibliographies and fact sheets, and finding aids/inventories for collections such as our trade literature collection and artist files.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Smoking and Health Database from the CDC
    Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Smoking and Health Database from the CDC

The Smoking and Health Database indexes citations and abstracts from medical and professional journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, reports, conference proceedings, government documents from federal, state, local, and foregin governments, fact sheets, and policy documents from U.S. and international nonprofits organizations. 1882-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Social Science Research Network
    Social Science Research Network
This resource is freely accessible

Social Science Research Network

Social Science Research Network indexes citation, abstracts, and some full text of pre-prints and other scholarly research papers.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Sound Online Inventory & Catalog (SONIC) from the Library of Congress
    Library of Congress catalog
This resource is freely accessible

Sound Online Inventory & Catalog (SONIC) from the Library of Congress

SONIC catalogs some of the audio recordings held by the Library of Congress: radio broadcasts, speeches, musical and theatrical performances, news broadcasts. and interviews. Some selections have been digitized and available online.1930s-present. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Spenser and the Tradition: English Poetry 1579-1830
    Spenser
This resource is freely accessible

Spenser and the Tradition: English Poetry 1579-1830

English Poetry 1579-1830 indexes full-text poems, commentary, and biographical entries on writers from the English-speaking world. Full text in HTML.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosopy
    Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosopy
This resource is freely accessible

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy is a constantly updated reference work. Entries are presented as HTML. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010