Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
U.S. Government Manual
    FDSys
This resource is freely accessible

U.S. Government Manual

The United States Government Manual provides information in ASCII text and PDF on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. 1995/96-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
ULI Development Case Studies
    Urban Land Institute
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource is freely accessible

ULI Development Case Studies

ULI Development Case Studies provides full-text case studies describing the development process of building projects (in HTML). Studies include general descriptions, contact information for the development team, the building site's background and history, special features of the project, what did and did not work on the project, key facts and figures, and photos of the site or floor plans. 1981-present. Limited to   simultaneous user.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000887
UNBISnet from the United Nations
    UN Bibliographic Information System
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

UNBISnet from the United Nations

UNBISnet is a catalog of United Nations documents, plus commercial publications and other non-UN sources held at the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. Some documents are available in full text. 1979-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) global database
    UNESCO
This resource is freely accessible

UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) global database

UIS provides statistics tables related to UNESCO's interests: education, literacy, science and technology, culture, and communication. View pre-defined tables or build your own by selecting countries, indicators, and years. Tables can be downloaded in spreadsheet formats or exported to PDFs. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
UNdata from the United Nations Statistics Division
    UN Data
This resource is freely accessible

UNdata from the United Nations Statistics Division

UNdata indexes data and statistics compiled by United Nations divisions, including official statistics produced by countries and compiled by United Nations data system, as well as estimates and projections. The domains covered are agriculture, crime, education, energy, industry, labour, national accounts, population and tourism. You can also find indicators such as Millennium Development Goals. Data can be downloaded in statistical software formats.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
USA.gov
    USA.gov
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

USA.gov

USA.gov is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from U.S. local, state, and federal government agency websites.

Full record

Jul 21, 2011
USAHA (United States Animal Health Association) Proceedings
    ASAHA United States Animal Health Association
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

USAHA (United States Animal Health Association) Proceedings

USAHA provides full-text proceedings in PDF (one per volume). 2002-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
USGS National Geologic Map Database
    USGS
This resource is freely accessible

USGS National Geologic Map Database

USGS National Geologic Map Database provides maps and related data about: geology, hazards, earth resources, geophysics, geochemistry, geochronology, paleontology, and marine geology.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
USPTO Issued Patents
    US Patent and Trademark Office
This resource is freely accessible

USPTO Issued Patents

The USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database indexes information about patents, plus provides full text of patents since 1976 and full-page images of all patents in TIFF format. 1790-present.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Union List of Artist Names from Getty
    Getty
This resource is freely accessible

Union List of Artist Names from Getty

The ULAN is a structured vocabulary currently containing around 293,000 names and other information about artists. Names in ULAN may include given names, pseudonyms, variant spellings, names in multiple languages, and names that have changed over time (e.g., married names). Among these names, one is flagged as the preferred name.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database
    UN Commodities Trade Statistics
This resource is freely accessible

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database

UN Comtrade provides standardised official annual trade statistics reported by countries and reflects international merchandise flows detailed by commodity and partner country with coverage reaching up to 99 percent of world merchandise trade. 1963-present

Full record

Sep 13, 2010