Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Freely accessible databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | #

  • This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
  • Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
VTechWorks institutional repository
    VTechWorks
This resource is freely accessible Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon Green open access - self archiving

VTechWorks

VTechWorks is an OAI-compliant campus-wide repository for collecting, organizing, managing, preserving, and provide access to the intellectual output of Virginia Tech, including 'grey literature' in the form of technical reports, working paper series, conference proceedings, pre-prints, post-prints, theses and dissertations, videos, images, and datasets. Materials in the repository are full-text searchable and indexed by commercial search engines such as Google and Google Scholar. Digital objects are automatically assigned persistant URIs and we assign DOIs for eligible materials upon request.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1001414
VaStat
    Virginia Statistics Abstracts
This resource is freely accessible

VaStat

VaStat provides statistics, data sets, and reports on all aspects of life in Virginia. Detailed profiles of counties and cities are provided. Employment and income statistics by area, taxation figures by local governments, population and demographics, industry profiles, and other economic drivers are all detailed in report and data sets.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Virginia Heritage Database
    Virginia Heritage
This resource is freely accessible Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Contents of this resource available through Summon

Virginia Heritage Database

Virginia Heritage indexes finding aids (collection descriptions) to manuscripts and archival materials held by libraries across Virginia. These finding aids may link to digitized versions of these materials, but the majority of these collections have not yet been digitized. 1607-present.  

Full record

Sep 13, 2010 e1000225
Virginia Memory from the Library of Virginia
    Virginia Memory from the Library of Virginia
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Virginia Memory from the Library of Virginia

Virginia Memory provides digitized collections of print materials, manuscripts, archival records, newspapers, photographs and ephemera, maps and atlases, rare books, and fine art. 

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Virginia State Employee Salaries from the Richmond Times-Dispatch
    Richmond Times Dispatch
This resource is freely accessible This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link

Virginia State Employee Salaries from the Richmond Times-Dispatch

Provides salary and other information from 212 state agencies, including colleges. It excludes the names of state employees whose total compensation is less than the statewide average of $50,425.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Virginia Tech April 16, 2007 Memorial Archive
    Virginia Tech April 16 Archive
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon

Virginia Tech April 16, 2007 Memorial Archive

The Memorial Archive indexes descriptions and some digitized representations of artifacts sent to the university as expressions of sympathy, support, and condolence in the aftermath of the shootings at Virginia Tech on April 16, 2007.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Virginia Tech Jobs database
    VT Jobs Database
This resource is freely accessible

Virginia Tech Jobs database

A database of open positions (faculty, staff, student, and part-time) at Virginia Tech.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Virginia Tech Libraries' Journal Title Database
    VT Journal Title Database
This resource is freely accessible Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

Virginia Tech Libraries' Journal Title Database

The Journal Title Database is a catalog of the Virginia Tech Library's print, microform, and electronic journal holdings. Search by ISSN or journal title and browse by subject or journal title. Content includes: (1) Complete, full text journals formally subscribed to by the libraries; and (2) Journals appearing in aggregator or intermediary databases like EBSCO or LexisNexis; (3) Print volumes in Newman, branches or storage; (4)Microform journals in Newman. You cannot search this database for individual articles.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010
Virginia Tech Scholarship Database
    VT Scholarships
This resource is freely accessible

Virginia Tech Scholarship Database

A database of scholarships provided by Virginia Tech or outside organizations. More information available through the Financial Aid web pages.

Full record

Sep 13, 2010