Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Databases are also listed by the type or format of the materials or resources they index. Examples included databases for conference proceedings, multimedia, newspaper articles, reviews, or statistics. For more focuses lists of databases, use the recommended databases listed on our subject guides or our detailed find by format pages.

Academic search engines
Broad searching across multiple disciplines and scholarly subscription databases or free web search engines
Broad searching across a family of databases with a common interface (federated searching)
Search results not restricted to a particular format
Article searching
Predominantly resources used to locate articles in published periodicals
Emphasis on scholarly research
Catalogs (about publications)
Bibliographic tools that give additional information about a resource
Some include analytical tools or reviews about resources
Chemical and physical properties
Predominantly covers resources that provide factual information about matter
Includes tables, formulas, chemical compounds and structures, etc.
Information about DNA, genes, and genomic maps
Conference papers, preprints, and working papers
Predominantly resources used to locate information not (yet) published in periodicals
"Gray literature"
Countries and cultures
Predominantly full text narrative resources with some tabular/statistical information on countries and cultures
Ebook packages
Search for full-text electronic books offered through various collections
Most offer full text searching capabilities, though some limit search terms to the title, author, table of contents and notes fields
Many of the individual ebooks will also be listed in Addison
Ejournal packages
Search for full-text journals offered through a publisher's platform
Most offer full text searching capabilities, though some limit results to ejournals included in VT's subscription
Not comprehensive searching on a topic as it only includes journals listed by the publisher in that search interface
Many of the individual ejournals will also be listed in the Journal Title Database
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs
Encyclopedias, dictionaries,glossaries, almanacs, and other reference sources used to give researchers a starting point when in an unfamiliar area
Includes general and subject-specific sources
Freely accessible
This database has no access restrictions; it is freely accessible to anyone online.
Some databases provide free access to some content, but not all content; check the database description for details.
Funding opportunities
Student and faculty funding (grants, scholarships and research funding)
Get VText supported
This resource provides Get VText links to access full text
Governance
Sources, both indexes and full-text, documenting the operations of governments
Census resources are located in the Statistics and data sets category
Handbooks and manuals
Primarily for resources that are "how-to" guides
Subject specific and "library research" tutorials
Mobile interface
Mobile interface available for this database; see description for link
Multimedia
Predominantly resources where it only searches, or is possible to limit searches, to multimedia format types with a scholarly application
Scanned and electronically produced images of maps go here; GIS data appears in Statistics and data sets
Scanned images of music scores appear in Music Recordings and scores
Audio recordings of speeches, personal narratives and the like will be found in Narratives, diaries, and letters
Music recordings and scores
Scanned images of scores
Electronically produced scores (images, mp3, MIDI, etc)
Streaming music databases
Narratives, diaries, and letters
Personal narratives, diaries, letters, speeches, memoirs, autobiographies, and other personal correspondences
Indexes and full-text
Includes audio recordings
Newspapers and magazines
Does not include articles from trade journals
Indexes and full-text
Popular magazine articles
Patents and trademarks
U.S. and international patents and patent applications
Trademarks
Laws about patents and trademarks will be found in the Governance category
Poetry and short stories
Indexes and full-text collections of short format literature
Print reference materials
Print indexes to articles and other publications for which no online database exists or for time period not covered by a database
print encyclopedias and other reference sources
Call number and location should be indicated
Professional and trade literature
Literature for the profession
Gateways to trade journals
Indexes and full-text collections of articles from trade journals
Reports, standards, and financials
Technical standards
Official or formal record of the activities of a committee or corporate entity, a special investigation, or the proceedings of a governmental body
Publications that are a separately issued record of research results, research in progress, or other technical studies
White papers, technical reports, and periodically published in sources other than journals and magazines
Business assessments by third parties
Restricted to Virginia Tech users
This resources is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff.
Off campus users should make use of Off Campus Sign In.
Reviews and critiques
Not limited to reviews of books and performances
Scholarly and non-scholarly
Reviews and critiques of books, articles, performances, artistic creations
Product reviews
Reviews of companies and industries will be in the Reports, standards, and financials category
Screencast tutorials available
Screencast tutorials available for this database. See description for link(s).
Statistics and data sets
Compiled statistics and collections of survey instruments and raw data
GIS
Census data
Public opinion polls
Summon includes contents of database
Contents of this database available in Summon.
Coverage varies among providers (percentage or date range)
Theses and dissertations
Indexes and collections
Print and electronic
Individual theses and dissertations published at Virginia Tech will also be listed in Addison/Summon
Virginia Tech related
Current and historical information
Includes information in all formats
VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia sponsored
Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia.


Find a database

This search box finds library databases by their titles and descriptions. It does not search for articles within databases. Keyword searches won't work here. (If you don't know which database to use, try one of the links listed below.)


Newman Library summer hours

Sun: 9:00am - 10:00pm
Mon-Thu: 7:30am - 10:00pm
Fri: 7:30am - 10:00pm
Sat: 9:00am - 8:00pm

Current semester hours

Art + Architecture Library summer hours

Sun: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Mon-Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Sat: Closed

Current semester hours

NVC Resource Center summer hours

Sun: Closed
Mon-Thu: 11:00am - 8:00pm
Fri: 11:00am - 6:30pm
Sat: 9:00am - 5:00pm

Current semester hours

Veterinary Medicine Library summer hours

Sun: Closed
Mon-Thu: 8:00am - 6:00pm
Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Sat: 1:00pm - 6:00pm

Current semester hours