Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Trial databases

The library arranges trials of databases we are considering to purchase or subscribe to. Whenever possible, we arrange for these trials to be accessible off campus; we will indicate any cases where use is limited to on-campus computers. Each trial lasts for a limited period and will have a feedback survey to collect insights of users. Your comments on the usability, scope of content, and applicability to research and other uses at Virginia Tech will inform our decisions.

Title Summary Date ID Author(s)
American History, 1493-1859 from Adam Matthew
    American History, 1493-1859 from Adam Matthew
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

American History, 1493-1859 from Adam Matthew

This database is on trial through October 31, 2016. American History provides primary documents, including diaries, government documents, business records, books, pamphlets, newspapers, photos, artwork, and maps. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Oct 10, 2016 e1001905
CLCD Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
    Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

This database is on trial through October 31, 2016. CLCD provides records and reviews of children's literature. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Oct 3, 2016 e1001904
F1000Prime
    F 1000
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

F1000Prime

This resource is on trial through November 2017. F1000 is an article alerting/recommendation service for the life sciences and medicine. It also has a reference manager function with corresponding citation tools like EndNote. Please provide feedback on this resource.

Full record

Oct 3, 2016 e1001903
Gale Researcher
    Gale Researcher
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

Gale Researcher

This database is on trial through November 25, 2016. Gale Researcher provides content (journal articles, encyclopedias, and streaming videos) in 10 disciplines (American lit, British lit, criminal justice, economics, philosophy, political science, psychology, sociology, American history, and world history) grouped into sample research topics. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Oct 3, 2016 e1001894
Mass Observation Online from Adam Matthew
    Mass Observation Online from Adam Matthew
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

This database is on trial through October 31, 2016. This resource provides primary documents from the Mass Observation organization, formed by anthropologist Tom Harrison, filmmaker Humphrey Jennings, and poet Charles Madge, and collected from 1937 to the 1950s. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Oct 10, 2016 e1001906
PolicyMap
    PolicyMap
This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only 

PolicyMap

This database is on trial through Novembaer 30, 2016. PolicyMap provides data through interactive maps about communities and markets across the U.S., for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications, and impact analysis. Please provide feedback on this database.

Full record

Oct 28, 2016 e1001726