Most of these databases are restricted to Virginia Tech affiliates; users not on the campus network should use Off Campus Sign In before accessing the links. See our complete list of statistical and data set databases for more details.
AQUASTAT from FAO provides information on water and agriculture by countries in the following main categories: land use and population; climate and water resources; water use, by sector and by source; irrigation and drainage development; and environment and health. Query results can be downloaded in CSV format.
Censtats from the US Census . Statistics, demographic information and other data for the US from several Census Bureau databases. Includes county business patterns, construction and building permits, census tracts, occupation data, international trade data and more. 1977-present.
Geodata.gov: U.S. maps & data A geographic information system (GIS) portal, also known as the Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), that serves as a public gateway for access to geospatial information and data. A catalog of geospatial information containing thousands of metadata records (information about the data) and links to live maps, features, and catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition Online . The "quantitative facts of American history from earliest times to present": data for social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences, including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, and trade. Includes interpretative essays and documentation of data sources. Browsable and searchable. Data can be downloaded to spreadsheets or statistical software, printed, or graphed. Also in print: call no. HA202 A385 2006.
ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research . Data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. See also our pages that describe ICPSR collections.
National Map from the USGS . Data can be displayed online or downloaded as data sets. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a GIS to create specific types of maps or map views.
STAT-USA/Internet . In-library access through the Federal Depository Library Program. Libraries are not permitted to provide remote access. Ask at a reference desk for a library staff person to physically log you into this site. Over 300,000 U.S. government reports and statistical series in business, trade, travel, and economics. Databases include Commerce Business Daily, Survey of Current Business, National Trade Data Bank, Global Trade Outlook, Economic Report of the President, and Budget of the United States.
Sun, Dec 14: open 7:30am*
Mon-Wed, Dec 15-17: open 24 hours*
Thu, Dec 18: close 8:00pm
Fri, Dec 19: 7:30am - 8:00pm
Sat-Sun, Dec 20-21: 9:00am - 6:00pm
* During 24 hour operation, a valid Hokie Passport is required to access or remain in the library between 12 midnight and 7:30am.