Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Many databases provide email and RSS alerting services to highlight new content as it is added to the database. These kinds of alerts can be more useful than publisher-based alerts when your research topic is covered across multiple journals or is multi-disciplinary. Unlike publisher-based alerts, you will need to make use of Off Campus Sign In to setup and access profiles or accounts at database web sites, and the alerts you receive often provide the proxied version of the link to the article.

  • Annual Reviews

      Annual Reviews allows you to establish a profile and be emailed Table of Contents alerts, citation tracking alerts, and saved search alerts.

  • BioOne

    BioOne offers email table of content alerts for their indexed journals and a few books.

  • EBSCOhost

    You can create email alerts for search in any (or multiple) EBSCOhost databases.

  • Engineering Village

    Engineering Village allows you to create up to 125 weekly Email Alerts from the Search History. A Personal Account is required to set up email alerts.

  • Google Scholar

    Google Scholar provides email alerts for new content added to their index (they do not list which publishers provide content or the frequency with which that content is re-indexed). You can't create alerts for individual publications in Google Scholar; you should use the directions for Publisher alerts for individual journal alerts.

  • Project MUSE

    You can receive weekly email notifications of new journal issues or new titles available in Project MUSE. Visit their email alert page, enter your email address, then select titles for which to receive alerts.

  • ProQuest

    There are two kinds of alerts. The search alert allows searches to be saved, run anew, and notification sent regarding updated results. The publications alert (found on the Publications search page with similar properties) notifies of the latest available issues of a favorite publication. Simply run and refine a search, then look for the Set up alert link at the top of the results.

  • PsycNet

    To set an email alert for new matches to a given search, start by performing and refining a search in any PsycNet database. Then click the “Set Email Alert” button. This will prompt you to sign in to your My PsycNET account. From here you will be able to name your search, add personal notes, determine the frequency of the email alert, and set when the alert will expire. Go back to My PsycNET at any time to edit or delete the alert.

  • PubMed

    A search in any PubMed database can be saved (using your My NCBI login). Once saved, you have the option of emailing new search results monthly, weekly, or daily. You can also set an upper limit on the number of search results to be emailed. A link in the email will take you to the complete search results in PubMed.

  • Web of Science from Thomson Reuters

    Web of Science: Citation Databases from Thomson databases allow creating saved search alerts (emails new citations that match your search criteria) and citation alerts (emails new article citations that include references to a chosen article).



After you have received an alert...

You can encounter two issues in received alerts:

Inability to access the item off campus

Now that VPN access to library resources has ended, the only way to access these outside the campus network is through Off Campus Sign In. Typically the links provided in alerts do not go through this proxy, but you can fix these links. Install the LibX browser extension, then either right-click the link in your browser and choose to follow the link via Off Campus Sign In, or go to the link, then right-click the page and reload it through Off Campus Sign In.

Inability to access the item through the publisher's site

You may be alerted to a new publication through a publisher's site, but we have access through a different source. If you cannot access the item even using Off Campus Sign In, search the Journal Title Database to see if the journal issue is available through a different provider. For journal articles not available locally, submit a request through ILLiad.