Most of the databases below are from commercial vendors who allow direct connection to some or all of their databases via EndNote connection files or for which there is an available import filter or where there is direct export functionality.
| Vendors/Databases |
Notes |
What to do? |
ABC CLIO
Databases include:
- America: History & Life
- Historical Abstracts
|
|
- Run search, tag records.
- Click on Export Options. Choose Short Entry (brief record) or Full Entry (all fields).
- Choose in Output Type the EndNote option and click Export Records button.
- Click on Export to Citation Manager.
- Choose the EndNote Library that these records should import into.
|
ACM
Databases:
|
No direct export. Must copy and paste bibliographic information into a text file - tedious process. |
- Run search and click on title of a relevant article to see details.
- In the Tools and Actions section, click on EndNote as your display format (other options are BibTex and ACM Ref).
- Copy and paste into a text document. Repeat for each relevant document.
- Use the ACM Digital Library import filter to pull the results into an EndNote library. If you are an ACM member, you can save time by saving your results to a binder (account and login required).
|
| Addison - Va Tech Libraries Online Catalog |
Use the VaTech import filter.
A connection file is also availlable for download here.
It is one of the connection files distributed with EndNote X1. Or, create your own. You will need to know the server address (hardy.cc.vt.edu), port (210), and database name (innopac).
|
- Run search, mark records.
- Click on Save Recordsand then on View Saved to display them.
- Click on Export Saved and choose format End-Note.
- Choose Send List to Local Disk.
- The records are saved as the file export.txt and can be imported using the VaTech import filter.
|
Agricola from the USDA
|
See also CSA, SilverPlatter instructions as AGRICOLA is available there as well) |
- Run search, mark records.
- Select Export Format.
- Click on Format for Print or Save(or E-mail records to yourself and then save).
- Save the page that displays as a text file.
- Import saved file using the National Agricultural Library import filter (9/14/2005).
|
| America's Historical Newspapers |
- TY= the type of information ('NEWS')
- N1 = the provider (always NewsBank/Readex)
- TI = the headline
- PY = date of publication
- JF = Standard Title of the newspaper
- JA, J2 = any Variant Titles, if different
- VL = volume
- IS = issue
- SP = page on which the article appeared
- CP = location where the newspaper was published
Download import filter.
|
- Run search, mark records by clicking Add to my Collecion box.
- Click View My Collection lin and then Export Citations link..
- The "Export Citation" link opens a new window. Save contents as a plain text file.
- Edit one of the RIS filters (ProCite, RefMan, RIS-filter) to be sure all of the data elements are included in the right fields. Save that edited RIS filter as AHN.enf; (or whatever name you like). Be sure also to change the default reference type to NEWS..
|
| AnthroSource |
|
- Run search, mark records.
- Click on Send to Citation Mgr.
- Format should be EndNote and Direct Export should be checked.
- Click on Download article citation data button.
- You can Open or Save. Choose Open, select your libray, and the citations are automatically imported.
|
| Bibliography of Asian Studies |
There are two different methods depending on whether you download all your retrieved records from the result screen, or whether you download records saved to the bookbag. |
See BAS downloading help. If downloading from the bookbag, you will need to save the BAS import filter first. |
| Blackwell-Synergy |
Most but not all publications are available to Virginia Tech users. Unavailable articles are indicated by the message that an "online subscription or single article purchase is required to access this article."
Z39.50 server: www.blackwell-synergy.com (campus only or VPN access) |
- Run search, mark results by clicking on Highlight box.
- Click on Download all highlighted to citation manager.
- Include either Citation or Citation and abstract.and be sure the EndNote format has been selected.
- Check the Direct import box and click the Download references button.
- Choose Open or Save. If you select Open, the EndNote program should launch. Choose your library and the references should import. If not, select Save and then import using the generic EndNote Library import filter.
|
|
CABI
Databases:
|
In addition to the direct export is an option to save results as a text file and then import using the CAB Direct import filter. Use this revised import filter which has been edited by Margaret Merrill of the library staff. Be sure to save this filter in the same directory as your other filters (for Windows users this will be Program Files-->EndNOte X1--> Filters).
|
- Run search, mark records, add to marked list.
- Select Full Record, Tagged Text, then select EndNote from the pull-down menu located between the save and export buttons.
- Click export.
- Choose your library and the results are automatically imported.
|
Chadwyck-Healey
Databases include:
- American Periiodicals Series
- ArchivesUSA
- British Periodicals
- C19
- Gerritsen Collection
- House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
- NSTC
- Palmer's Index
- Periodicals Index Online
- Poole's Index
- Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
|
|
- Run search, mark results by clicking Add to Marked List.
- Click on Marked List and then on Download citations.
- Choose Export directly to ProCite, EndNote, or Reference Manager.
- Choose EndNote library and results are automatically imported.
|
| CQ Electronic Library |
An alternative to sending individual items to an EndNote library using CITENOW! is to mark selected results, save to favorites, display favorites list, mark all records, and the email marked records to yourself. |
- Run search.
- Click on an item of interest and then on CITENOW!.
- Choose Export citation to: EndNote.
- Select an EndNote library and your item is automatically imported.
|
|
CSA Illumina
Over 50 databases. See list.
Grouped in the categories of:
- Arts & Humanities
- Natural Sciences
- Social Sciences
- Technology
|
Login required for connection files. Server: Z3950.csa.com
- User ID = vpp5
- Password = vpp54
CSA Database Names
Edit the import filter if data is not processed correctly. Use the full option to see all available fields.
|
Can directly export to RefWorks only. For EndNote:
- Run search, mark records.
- Choose format option: short (basic bibliographic information), full (all fields), or custom (you pick what to include).
- Save or email results.
- Use appropriate import filter.
|
| DOE Information Bridge |
|
- Run search, mark records.
- Click on
Show only (v) Items.
- Click on EndNote Library File For (v) Items.
- You can Open or Save. Choose Open and then select your library.
- Results will automatically import into your library.
|
EBSCOhost
Available databases:
- ABSEES
- America Histiry & Life
- CINAHL and Pre-CINAHL
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
- Education Research Complete
- ERIC
- Historical Abstracts
- Hospitality & Tourism Index
- LISTA
- MEDLINE
- PsycINFO
- PsycARTICLES
- Scientific American Archive
- Teacher Reference Center
- Textile Technology Index
|
Z39.50 Support Materials
Database Names
If direct export does not work, try saving citations in a format that can be uploaded to bibliographic management software, then use appropriate import filter.
|
- Run search, add selected records to folder.
- Click on folder icon when records have been added.
- Save to disk, click on Bibliographic Manager tab.
- Choose citations in Direct Export format.
- Click Save, choose EndNote Library, and references will import automatically.
|
|
Engineering Village
Available databases include:
|
|
- Run search, mark records.
- Choose format (Citation, Abstract, detailed).
- Click on Download, select the RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager option, and click the Download button.
- You are asked: Do you want to open or save this file?
If you choose Open, select your library and the records are imported into it.
If you choose Save, use either of the RIS import filters (RefMan or ProCite).
|
| Ergonomics Abstracts |
|
- Run search, mark results.
- Choose an Action: Download Citation.
- Choose a format: EndNote Direct Export
- Choose detail required: Citation only or Citation and abstract.
- Choose delivery method: Download file.
- You can Open or Save. Select Open, select your EndNote library, and resuts are automatically imported.
|
FirstSearch
VT subscribed databases
|
Can connect directly to some FirstSearch databases. See list of all available Z39.50 databases.
Z39.50 Configuration Guide
|
- Search, mark records.
- Click on Export. You can export to EndNote or RefWorks.
- Select your EndNote Library and then select the appropriate import filter. FirstSearch databases are listed in the filter category OCLC.
|
| Google Scholar |
See the FAQ at EndNote. Windows X users must be sure they have a recent version of the EndNote Import Filter. |
- Go to the Google Scholar home page and click on the Scholar Preferences link
- Under Bibliography Manager select the option "Show links to import citations into" and choose EndNote in the drop down box. Click on the Save Preferences button.
- Run search, locate items of interest and click on the Import into EndNote link. The file name is scholar.enw and the EndNote import filter is used to process the record.
|
| IEEE |
Can export directly to EndNote |
- Run search, mark results.
- Click on view selected itemsbutton.
- In the Download Citations box, choose output format (Citation or Citation & Abstract) and select EndNote, ProCite, RefMan option.
- Results will be imported into the EndNote library you specify.
|
Ingenta -
IngentaConnect -
ConnectComplete |
Can export directly to EndNote
Perhaps rename import filter as ingenta. UnCover was former service name.
The export excludes the abstract field. Ingenta' is contractually prohibited from distributing the abstracts for storage on other systems.
|
- Run search, mark results.
- Click on export (EndNote).
- Results will be imported into the EndNote library you specify.
- If direct export does not work, use export (plain text) option, save results to disc, and import using UnCover [INGENTA] import filter.
|
| JSTOR |
If the results include a persistent URL that begins with http://muse.jhu.ed, this link will work when on-campus, but off-campus users will have to modify it to work successfully.
Prepend the library's EZproxy string to the URL: http://ezproxy.lib.vt.edu:8080/login?url=
Following the ?url= you add the document URL that was imported into your EndNote library.
Example:
http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/elh/v069/69.2fox.html
JSTOR filter was updated on 7/12/2006.
|
- Run search, mark results.
- Click on View Saved Citationslink.
- Select Directly export citations into EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager from the Export Options.
- You are asked to Open or Save.
If you choose Open, you are then asked to specify an EndNote library and the results will be automatically imported.
If you choose Save, the results are saved to disk with the filename Citations. RIS (which you can change). Use the JSTOR or RefMan RIS import filter to pull the saved records into your EndNote library.
|
OvidSP
Databases include:
- AARP AgeLine
- Biological Abstracts
- FSTA - Food Science & Technology Abstracts
- Journals@Ovid Full Text
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
- Zoological Record
|
Formed by the merger of Ovid and SilverPlatter databases.
Can directly connect to some Ovid databases. Login is not required. If connection file shows ? in user name and password boxes, delete them.
Server: z3950.ovid.com
Database parameters
If direct export does not work, try saving results in either BRS/Tagged or Reprint/Medlars format, then select appropriate import filter.
|
- Run search, mark records, select fields to display or save.
- Click on Direct Export option in Result Format column in the Results Manager at bottom of the screen.
- Click Save and choose which software product to export to (EndNote, ProCite< Reference Manager, RefWorks).
- Click Continue button, choose Library and appropriate import filter.
|
| Oxford Journals |
|
- Search or browse, then mark items of interest.
- Click on Download All Selected Citations to Citation Manager.
- Choose EndNote.
- You are asked to Open or Save this file. Choose Open.
- Choose your EndNote Library and references are imported automatically.
|
| Project Muse |
If the results will include a persistent URL that begins with http://muse.jhu.edu, this link will work when on-campus, but off-campus users will have to modify it to work successfully. Prepend the library's EZproxy string to the URL: http://ezproxy.lib.vt.edu:8080/login?url=
|
- Run search, mark results.
- Click on Save Marked Records.
- Click on Email/Export Saved Records.
- Export marked results to: EndNote. Click the Export button.
- Results will be imported into the EndNote library you specify.
|
|
ProQuest
Databases include:
|
Connection files require logins.
ABI, ENW, GW:
Server: proquest-z3950.umi.com
Database Name: PQ_current
User Name and Password: Please contact the Ask a librarian service.
APS, HNP:
Server: hnz39.umi.com
Database Name: PQHNP
User Name and Password: Please contact the Ask a librarian service.
|
To use import filters:
- Run search, mark results.
- Click on the My Research tab at top of screen.
- Click the Export citations into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks or Reference Manager link.
- You see the Export Citations page. Choose the direct export option.
- Choose your EndNote Library and references are imported automatically.
If direct export does not work, choose the EndNote compatible format and save the RIS file as a text file. The file downloaded from ProQuest is organized using the RIS structure.
|
|
PubMed from the National Library of Medicine
|
(See also CSA, EBSCOhost, FirstSearch instructions as MEDLINE is available there as well)
Latest Windows version is 9/25/2006.
|
- In your search results, use the citation check boxes to select citations. If you do not make any selections, PubMed will select all citations on the current page.
- From the Display pull-down menu, select MEDLINE.
- From the Send to pull-down menu, select File. Save as a text file.
- Import this file using PubMed import filter
|
| ScienceDirect |
|
- Run search, mark records.
- Click on export citations button.
- Select Content Format (Citations Only or Citations and Abstracts) and Export Format (RIS format).
- Click on the Export button.
- The EndNote program should launch. Pick your library and the results are automatically imported.
|
| ScienceDirect |
Large collection of electronic journals from Elsevier Scientific.
As of Oct 2004, some fields do not import properly (EP - ending page).
|
- Run search, mark results.
- Click on export citations button.
- Choose RIS format and hit the Export button.
- Select EndNote Library and results will import automatically.
|
SciFinder |
Chemical Abstracts Service: |
campus use only (includes VPN and inbound modem pool access)
- Run search, mark records, save results as a tagged .txt file.
- Choose the SciFinder import filter.
=
|
| SpringerLink |
The full-text of most articles is available, but some publications are outside the scope of the Virginia Tech Libraries' subscription agreement. As of May 2006, about 1200 of the 1500 publications in the SpringerLink collection are available. |
- Run search, mark records.
- Click on RIS in the Export Selected Citations section.
- You can Open or Save the file download. Select Open, choose an EndNote Library, and the results are imported.
|
Thomson Gale - Additional Databases
Databases, include:
- Business Index ASAP
- MLA International Bibliography
- National Newspaper Index
- Times Digital Archive
|
There are two interfaces, the Cross Searchable Databases and the so-called Additional databases (original InfoTrac format).
Thomson Gale connection files and import filters work very imperfectly, so you may need to edit or perform a lot of manual parsing or even copy and paste elements from an email.
For connection files, use this User ID: viva_vpi
|
- Run search, then click on View to see results.
- Mark results.
- Click on View mark list.
- At bottom of the list you see an E-mail Delivery section. Enter your E-mail address and a Subject, then click the Submit E-mail Request button.
- Once the e-mail has been received, save as a text file.
- Import using appropriate import filter.
|
|
Thomson Gale - Cross Searchable Databases
Databases, include:
-
Academic OneFile
-
Computer Database
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Gale Virtual ReferenceLibrary
- General BusinessFile ASAP
- General OneFile
- General Reference Center Gold
- Health Reference Center Academic
|
There are two interfaces, the Cross Searchable Databases and the so-called Additional databases (original InfoTrac format).
Thomson Gale connection files and import filters work very imperfectly, so you may need to edit or perform a lot of manual parsing or even copy and paste elements from an email.
For connection files, use this User ID: viva_vpi
|
- Run search, mark results.
- Click on Marked items folder, then on Citation Tools.
- Select EndNote in the Export to third party software section.
- Click the Export button.
- You are asked to Open or Save. Choose Open, select an EndNote library, and the references are automatically imported.
|
| Synthesis - Morgan & Claypool Publishers |
|
- Run search, mark records.
- Click on Download to Citation Manager.
- The Include option allws you to choose between: Citation for this lecture, References cited in this lecture, or Both lecture citation and reference list.
- Choose EndNote format and check Direct import box.
- Click the Download lecture metadata button.
- You are aske to Save or Open.
- Choose Open, specify an EndNote library, and the records will be automatically imported into that library.
|
| TRIS |
Default file name for saved results is NTLExport_EndNote_yyyymmdd.txt |
- Run search, mark records.
- Click on View Marked Records button.
- Choose Download as EndNote option.
- You can Open or Save. Choose Save.
- Use EndNote Import Filter.
|
|
Web of Science
ISI Citation indexes, which can be searched individually or together.
|
To choose specific fields to include in exported results, add records to Marked List and then select the output fields from the display of the Marked List Be sure the output format is set to Field Tagged before clicking on Export to Reference Software.
|
- Run search, mark results.
- Choose output format: Bibliographic Fields, Bibliographic + Abstract, Full Record, Full Record + Cited Refs
- Click on Export button, choose EndNote Library and results are automatically imported.
|
WilsonWeb
Databases include:
- Art FullText
- Library Literature
|
NOTE: The WilsonWeb import filter available at EndNote dated 3/23/06 uses long field labels and the direct export uses short field labels, which results in a failure to import records. Use this revised import filter instead.
|
- Run search, mark results
- Click on Print Email Save button.
- Select Export to bibliographic software: EndNote, RefWorks...
- Select Download Record(s) to The EndNote filter and click Export button.
- Save file as am RIS formatted file.
- Use this revised import filter.
|