Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Databases and indexes

This tag lists news announcements on databases and indexes, both subscription-based and free. It includes announcements on newly available databases, new interfaces and search options, and end of subscriptions. Databases on trial are listed elsewhere. As most of the databases mentioned here are subscription-based, you will need to make use of Off Campus Sign In when accessing them from outside the campus network.

DateTitle
Apr 20, 2014 Artemis databases allow searching large collections of primary source and literature citations
Apr 15, 2014 Use cited reference searches to track use of a publication
Apr 14, 2014 Science, technology, and medicine primary sources expanded in Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Mar 07, 2014 SimplyMap allows creating interactive thematic maps and reports
Feb 26, 2014 Black Studies Center database now available
Jan 22, 2014 Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) provides videos of experimental techniques
Jan 05, 2014 Smithsonian archive adds to browsable magazine collections
Aug 20, 2013 Faculty Week: updates on tools for promotion and tenure
Aug 01, 2013 MLA International Bibliography and LION literature databases now available through ProQuest
Jul 18, 2013 Changes to network addresses in National Capital Region affects access to databases
Jul 02, 2013 Mango for Libraries has added 12 additional languages
Jun 26, 2013 Gale's Nineteenth Century Collections Online has added 4 additional archives
Jun 19, 2013 2012 data now available in Journal Citation Reports
Jun 16, 2013 Web of Science database now includes book and conference proceedings citations
Jun 10, 2013 Web of Knowledge now provides two biology databases
Jun 09, 2013 Data Citation Index now available
May 13, 2013 Top 20 searched databases
Mar 02, 2013 Mergent Intellect database provides business data and nationwide white pages
Feb 04, 2013 Alumni Library Portal now provides access to select databases
Jan 28, 2013 Mango provides online language instruction
Feb 01, 2013 ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library now available
Sep 03, 2012 Mergent's Event Data provide real time financial news
Jul 27, 2012 Reaxys requires re-registration
Jul 18, 2012 SpringerProtocols provide step-by-step instructions for experiments
Jul 13, 2012 LandScan provides global population data sets
Jul 04, 2012 2011 data now available in Journal Citation Reports
Jul 11, 2012 Children's Core Collection provides reviews and more
Jul 09, 2012 Cabell's Directories help with the article publishing process
Jul 02, 2012 Best's Library Center provides insurance industry reports
Jun 25, 2012 Additional Mergent business databases now available
Jun 22, 2012 SAGE Research Methods provides ebooks, videos, and more
Jun 17, 2012 MADCAD database provides full-text building codes and standards
Jun 07, 2012 Google Scholar advanced search changed
Jun 01, 2012 Nineteenth Century Collections database now available
May 31, 2012 Orlando database of British women writers now online
May 29, 2012 Plunkett Research business database now available
May 27, 2012 ProQuest Statistical Insight database now available
May 23, 2012 RAND State Statistics database now available
May 24, 2012 Glossary of Geology now available online
May 20, 2012 Roper Center for Public Opinion Research database now available
Apr 02, 2012 ScienceDirect articles now available in ePUB and Mobi ereader formats
Apr 04, 2012 New and enhanced business databases from Mergent now available
Mar 27, 2012 IEEE Xplore upgrade will delete saved searches
Mar 23, 2012 Databases from Africa Knowledge Project now available
Feb 17, 2012 American National Biography now online
Feb 14, 2012 Grand Corpus French dictionary now online
Feb 01, 2012 Advertising Red Books now available online
Jan 25, 2012 Art & Architecture Complete database now available
Jan 04, 2012 WilsonWeb databases transitioning to EBSCOhost platform
Oct 05, 2011 Five new WilsonWeb databases provide historical indexing
Sep 28, 2011 Methods in Enzymology ebooks now available
Aug 21, 2011 What's new with the University Libraries
Jul 27, 2011 netLibrary ebooks now available on EBSCOhost
Jul 20, 2011 Web of Knowledge databases have updated interface
Jul 07, 2011 Expired PID password will block access to Off Campus Sign In
Jun 30, 2011 SciFinder Scholar update
Jun 29, 2011 2010 data now available in Journal Citation Reports
Jul 05, 2011 LexisNexis Academic now has mobile interface
May 16, 2011 Introducing Summon, a new kind of library search engine
May 09, 2011 Top 10 used databases for 2010-2011
May 09, 2011 African American Study Center now available
May 07, 2011 American History streaming video database now available
May 05, 2011 International Studies Encyclopedia now available
May 03, 2011 Biography in Context database now available
Mar 15, 2011 Online reference works from Gale Virtual Reference Library now available
Feb 24, 2011 Chicago Defender newspaper archives now available
Feb 19, 2011 Book Review Digest database now includes recent reviews
Jan 20, 2011 Wiley Online Library combines Wiley Interscience and Blackwell Synergy Electronic Journals
Jan 24, 2011 Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys now online
Jan 05, 2011 Science.gov provides new image search capabilities
Sep 30, 2010 Enhancements made to Company Dossier database from LexisNexis
Sep 02, 2010 Dissertations and Theses from ProQuest replacing Dissertation Abstracts
Aug 16, 2010 Psychology databases changing platform; retrieve saved citations before Aug 20
Jun 17, 2010 2009 data now available for Journal Citation Reports
Jun 12, 2010 Gale literature databases now available
May 06, 2010 Top 10 databases searched this year
Apr 02, 2010 Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective database now available
Mar 02, 2010 Westlaw passwords are available to Virginia Tech faculty, staff, and students
Mar 01, 2010 General Social Surveys, 1972-2008 now available from ICPSR
Feb 13, 2010 IEEE Xplore debuts new interface
Jan 04, 2010 Web-based version of SciFinder Scholar now available
Feb 09, 2009 Access to April 16 documents database