Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Agricultural and applied economics

Agricultural and applied economics is the study and generation of the information needed to make sound economic decisions about the production, processing, and distribution of agricultural products; the development of rural communities; the use of natural resources; and the policies and behavior that influence human health and financial well-being. Virginia Tech's degree and research emphasis is on: agribusiness management, environmental and resource economics, financial planning, rural and community economic development, including developing nations, veterinary business management, and food and health economics.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of agricultural and applied economics | Recommended databases | Early literature

  • AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota

        AgEcon
    This resource is freely accessible

    AgEcon Search from the University of Minnesota

    Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in the broadly defined field of agricultural economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food supply, natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, agricultural trade, and economic development. The majority of items in AgEcon Search are working papers, conference papers, and journal articles, although other types such as books chapters and government documents are included. Many sources are peer reviewed and content is delivered as PDFs. 1922-present.

    Full record

  • AGRICOLA from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    AGRICOLA from ProQuest

    AGRICOLA indexes citations for journal articles, books, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture, life sciences, nutrition, and environmental science. This database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1970-present.  

    Full record

  • CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

        CAB
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    CAB Abstracts from CABDirect

    CAB Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, field notes, and theses in agriculture, life sciences, natural resources, veterinary sciences, applied economics, nutrition, tourism, and the environment. Includes the CAB Abstracts Archive. Some full text available as PDFs. 1910s-present.  

    Full record

  • EconLIT from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    EconLIT from ProQuest

    EconLit indexes citations and abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and the full text of book reviews and working papers on economic theory and application. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1969-present.  

    Full record


Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.

Related subject guides