Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Accounting

This guide has been created to highlight resources most commonly used by those studying the following aspects of accounting: auditing, financial statement analysis, information systems, taxes, corporate valuation, financial performance, accounting practices.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of accounting | Recommended databases | Business and industry profiles

  • CCH Accounting Research Manager

        CCH Accounting Research Manager
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    CCH Accounting Research Manager

    ARM is a database that give access and intrepretations for accounting standards from FASB, AICPA, EITF and IASBF. See ARM Effective Use page for help in getting started. It includes a tour, practice exercises, and best research practices.  

    Full record

  • Mergent Online

        Mergent
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia

    Mergent Online

    Provides company, industry, and country reports for active and inactive, public and some private companies. Reports provided in PDF and can be exported as Word or Excel files. It includes 15 years of financial statement.  

    Full record

  • BNA Tax Management Library

        BNA Tax Management Library
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only

    BNA Tax Management Library

    Search or browse the Federal/Foreign Tax Library, with sections on expert analysis (portfolios), news and developments, journals and special reports, primary sources, laws and regulations, and practice tools. Replaces print versions of Tax Management Portfolios and Tax Management Primary Sources. The State Tax Library portion of the database is not part of the library's subscription, so these links will not work. Limited to   simultaenous users.  

    Full record

  • RIA Checkpoint

        RIA
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon

    RIA Checkpoint

    Checkpoint indexes full-text, primary sources for federal, state and local and international tax as well as estate planning, payroll, pension and benefits, accounting, auditing, and corporate finance research. 1860-present.  

    Full record

  • ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    ABI/INFORM from ProQuest

    ABI/Inform indexes citations, abstracts, and full text news articles, market and SWOT analyses, industry reports, country reports, downloadable data sets, dissertations, business cases, working papers, annual reports from North American companies, and company profiles and histories. You can limit searches to peer-reviewed journals. Full text provided in HTML and PDF. 1971-present.  

     Full record


  • Ellen Krupar
  • College Librarian for Business
  • (540) 231-4863
  • kellen@vt.edu
  • 1039 Pamplin Hall, 880 West campus Drive
    3032 Newman Library, 560 Drillfield Drive
    Blacksburg, VA 24061

Bookmark and Share



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.