Use this guide to perform background research to refine a research topic, confirm terminology, and get a general understanding before finding books and articles to support a research project.
Search or browse across 13 subject encyclopedias and dictionaries with over 80,000 entries. References are linked via Get VText.
Plant Management Network indexes the full text of thousands of fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, conference papers, and training resources on applied plant science and other agricultural disciplines, plus articles from several plant science journals. Full text provides as PDFs. Also includes an image database of field crops, vegetables, fruits, trees, tropical plants, and turf grass. 2000-present.
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Fact Sheets provide brief descriptions of a plant, its uses, and cultural recommendations. Plant Guides are similar but more extensive. Both are provided as PDFs. The database also includes an image gallery of photos and line drawings of U.S. plants plus cultivated or foreign taxa.
NASS allows searching and browsing of reports and data sets compiled by the National Agricultural Statistics Service. Reports cover virtually every facet of U.S. agriculture—production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, and other aspects of the farm industry. Data sets are commodity specific and contains many category breakdowns including U.S., state, and county crop and livestock data. Full-text reports available in PDF and text. Reports 1900s-present; data sets 1866-present.