Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Africana studies

The mission of the Africana studies program at Virginia Tech is to critically assess present cultural and structural forces and the historical conditions that have given rise to the economic, legal, psychological, educational, social, and moral status of people of African descent as well as Africans on the continent and throughout the Diaspora. 

Getting started with academic research | Recommended databases | Overview of Africana studies | Africana literature

  • America: History and Life from EBSCOhost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    America: History and Life from EBSCOhost

    America: History and Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database includes citations and links to journal articles, dissertations, primary documents, and book and media reviews. Some content is available full-text (PDF and HTML). Allows limiting to peer reviewed articles, those with references, and to historical periods (date ranges). 1863-present.  

    Full record

  • Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Sociological Abstracts from ProQuest

    Sociological Abstracts indexes abstracts and citations from journal articles, book reviews, books, conference papers, and theses and dissertations in the field of sociology, social and behavioral sciences, and related topics. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1952-present.  

    Full record

  • Family & Society Studies Worldwide from EBSCOHost

        EBSCOhost interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Family & Society Studies Worldwide from EBSCOHost

    Family & Society Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (PDFs) from journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources in the social sciences and education. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900s-present. Limited to   simultaneous users.  

    Full record

  • PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest

        ProQuest search screen
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    PAIS Archive and PAIS International from ProQuest

    PAIS International indexes citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material on all aspects of international affairs and politics. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.1914-present.

     Full record


    Heather Moorefield-Lang



Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access Resource is licensed for Virginia Tech alumni access. Use Alumni Library Portal Sign In to access.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.