Research and full-text sources for African and African American literature.
Getting started with academic research | Background research | Recommended databases | Africana literature
Black Literature Criticism: Classic and Emerging Authors since 1950 provides full-text reference articles in HTML and PDF on selective works of African American literature, including works of African and Carribean authors. Entries include biographical data, overviews of literary interests, summaries of works, and critical commentary. Many entries include an author portrait.
A collection of over 2,500 full-text poems in HTML. It provides a survey of African American poetry from the earliest published African American poems to the works of Paul Laurence Dunbar. The bibliographic basis is William French's Afro-American Poetry and Drama 1760-1975.
Literary Themes for Students: Race and Prejudice provides full-text essays in HTML and PDF on race and prejudice in literature.
Includes full text of three references works:Short Story Criticism: most-studied short story writers with a historical survey of the critical response to their work, Drama Criticism: for each play or playwright: critical opinion, a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more, and Children's Literature Review: most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works. Entries presented in HTML and scanned page images that can be exported in PDF.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world, supplemented by the U.S., and English Authors Series. Full text presented as HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources.