These database provide financial and market profiles of businesses, companies, and industries.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of apparel | Recommended databases | Business and company profiles
Company Profiles contains data on more than 10,000 public and 200,000 private companies. Search by company name or stock ticker. The database includes profiles of companies and company executives, annual reports and other SEC filings, bankruptcy reports, merger and acquisition transactions, and earnings reports. It covers all US public companies, more than 200,000 private US companies, and many thousands of other companies around the world. Sources include Standard & Poor's Corporate Register and Hoover's Company Reports.
Search by company name, stock ticker, or D-U-N-S number. A "snapshot" screen gives basic contact information, industry classification, a business description, stock quotes and charts, a summary of yearly financials, links to current, full-text news stories about the company, and lists of key competitors, executives, and members of the board of directors. Links to corporate hierarchies show parent and subsidiary companies. Other links give additional financial, legal and intellectual property information.
SEC Filings contains the full text of EDGAR filings from 1993 as well as annual and quarterly reports and proxy statements of more than 4,000 US companies, filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission since 1985. Full text available in HTML.
Mintel offers over 900 market research reports focused on the broad categories of: beauty and personal, drink, electronics, food and foodservice, health and medical, health and wellness, household, lifestyles, retailing and travel. The reports can be searched for product, brand name or keyword. Mintel also offers news articles related to marketing, reports of company management changes, and company profiles.
When logging into the database, you must accept conditions of use and login with your email and a password that you create. You must use your Virginia Tech email for this system. Limited to simultaneous users.
MarketLine provides searchable company, industry, and country information. Includes industry profiles (with size, segmentation, and competitive analysis); company profiles of 50,000 public and private companies; country profiles; three databases (base drivers, consumer markets, financial deals); as well as news, comment, and analysis.
Provides company, industry, and country reports for active and inactive, public and some private companies. Reports provided in PDF and can be exported as Word or Excel files. It includes 15 years of financial statement.