Anthropology is the broad study of humankind around the world and throughout time. It is concerned with both the biological and the cultural aspects of humans. It studies tools, techniques, traditions, language, beliefs, kinships, values, social institutions, economic mechanisms, art and literature, politics, biological evolution, human adaptability, and primatology. It describes the impact of humans on other humans.
Getting started with academic research | Overview of anthropology | Recommended databases
An index of citations in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural ethnography, and linguistics from more than 900 journals in the British Museum's Anthropology Library. Contains information from a broad geographical range, emphasizing the Commonwealth and extending to Eastern Europe and the Americas. 1957-present. Limited to simultaneous users.
A full-text portal and index to journals, newsletters, bulletins, and books from the American Anthropological Association (content is hosted in Wiley Online Library ). Articles available in PDF and HTML. 1880s-present.
ASSIA is an index of citations and abstracts to journal articles in the social sciences and education, economics, and health fields. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1987-present.
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection database indexes citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, magazines, and book reviews in the field of psychiatry and psychology, anthropology, emotional and behavioral characteristics. Full-text articles are available in HTML and PDF. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1930-present.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide indexes citations, abstracts, and full-text articles (PDFs) from journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses and dissertations, and other sources in the social sciences and education. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. 1900s-present. Limited to simultaneous users.