Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Aerospace engineering

The Aerospace Engineering program of study emphasizes aerodynamics, structures, propulsion, and flight mechanics with instructional material leading to a year-long capstone design experience in the senior year. Faculty work in areas such as aerodynamics, hydrodynamics, structural mechanics, material science, dynamics and control, multidisciplinary design optimization, and energy systems.

Getting started with academic research | Overview of aerospace and ocean engineering | Recommended databases | Technical reports

  • Aerospace & High Technology Database from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Aerospace & High Technology Database from CSA

    The Aerospace & High Technology Database indexes citations to basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, space sciences, as well as technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. It also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms. Sources covered include journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. 1962-current.  

    Full record

  • AIAA - American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

        American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Contents of this resource available through Summon

    AIAA - American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

    Includes full text of AIAA journal articles and technical papers from 1963 - present as PDFs, as well as full text of the publications of the American Rocket Society and the Institute of the Aerospace Sciences, 1930 - 1962. Citations (not full text) of AIAA standards are also available. See the AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) Refsheet or detailed instructions on finding AIAA documents.  

    Full record

  • Engineering Village

        Engineering Village
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Screencast tutorials available for this resource database provides Get VText links

    Engineering Village

    Engineering Village is the search interface to three engineering databases: Compendex, Inspec, and NTIS. Compendex indexes citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journals, conference papers, books, patents, dissertations, and technical reports. Inspec indexes citations and abstracts from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and dissertations in engineering and physical sciences. NTIS indexes citations and abstracts of National Technical Information Service reports and audiovisual materials from sources such as NASA and the departments of Energy and Defense. 1884-present.  

    Full record

  • IEEE Xplore Digital Library

        IEEE
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only This resource provides a mobile interface; see description for link Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    IEEE Xplore Digital Library

    IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world’s highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, electronics, and related disciplines. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. Full text content is provided as PDFs. 1893-present, full text from 1988-present.

    Full record

  • Materials Research Database with METADEX from CSA

        CSA interface
    This resource is restricted to Virginia Tech users only Sponsored by VIVA, the Virtual Library of Virginia Screencast tutorials available for this resource Contents of this resource available through Summon database provides Get VText links

    Materials Research Database with METADEX from CSA

    Materials Research Database with METADEX indexes citations, abstracts, and some full text from journal articles, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journals, books, and press releases on the engineering and physical science aspects of materials research. You can limit to peer-reviewed sources. Full text is provided as PDFs. 1966-present

    Full record


    Larry Thompson


Chat Button

Legend

restricted resource Resource is restricted to current Virginia Tech students, faculty, and staff. Use Off Campus Sign In if not on the campus network.
freely accessible database Freely accessible database, available to anyone without restriction
mobile interface Mobile interface available, see description for link.
Screencast tutorial available Screencast tutorial available, icon linked to list.
Contents in summon Contents of this database are in Summon.
get VText Resource provides Get VText links to access full text.
gold open access - publishing Resource provides open access publishing opportunities and open access publications.
get VText Resource provides self archiving opportunities and open access documents.


Guides for finding engineering related information

Some engineering material can be difficult to locate. These reference sheets give general information about the resource as well as instructions on how to retrieve the material from the VT library collection.

  • AIAARefsheet - AIAA: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics - technical papers
  • ASMERefsheet - ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers - technical papers
  • ASTMRefsheet- ASTM: American Society for Testing and Materials - standards and technical papers
  • EPARefsheet - EPA: Environmental Protection Agency - reports
  • NASARefsheet - NACA/NASA - technical reports
  • SAERefsheet - SAE: Society of Automotive Engineers - technical papers and standards
  • Engineering standards - standards from many engineering organizations
  • MSDS - Material Safety Data Sheets